reviews, skincare

Boscia Tsubaki Cleansing Oil-Gel

Hello all! I picked up the Boscia Tsubaki Cleansing Oil-Gel during the Sephora VIB sale. I love trying new cleansing oils, and as this was suggested to me by a Sephora employee. I also have never tried an oil-gel before. So what do I think of this?

The price:

$28.00 for 5 oz/ 150 mL at Sephora (I did get this at the VIB sale for 20% off, though).

The packaging:

100_5345

The Tsubaki line is very pretty – it’s got pink flowers on it as part of the design. I did really enjoy the look of the main box (but already threw it out before taking photos), and do also appreciate that the flowers were on both the box and the bottle. Brands seem to skimp on a lot of design elements on the actual product if there’s a box. The consistency was a nice touch!

The bottle itself is a translucent white tube with a white pump. The product itself is pink, so you can see it easily through the bottle. It’s pretty but also a cool way to show off the product!100_5351

The ingredients:

Water, Diglycerin, Methyl Gluceth-20, Decyl Glucoside, Lactobacillus Ferment, PEG-75, C11-15 Pareth-12, Ethoxydiglycol, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Butylene Glycol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Extract, Moringa Pterygosperma Seed Oil, Epilobium Angustifolium Extract, Melia Azadirachta Leaf Extract, Eclipta Prostrata Extract, Undaria Pinnatifida Extract, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Allantoin, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Acrylates/Vinyl Isodecanoate Crosspolymer, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Leaf Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Potassium Hydroxide.

Tsubaki is the Japanese word for camellia, the first oil listed (Boscia is a Japanese brand). I do like that the main focus of the product/line is the same as the main oil used.

The scent:

I really like this scent. It’s a light, sweet floral – perfect for this time of year! It feels fresh and relaxing, and definitely not cloyingly sweet, smothering, or grandmotherly. It works very nicely for a cleanser, especially for coming home after a long day at work, feeling a bit worn, and then using this to finally let me relax. There is no parfum listed as an ingredient, so this scent is undoubtedly from the oils and essences themselves.

The application:

So this actually isn’t an oil cleanser! It took me like a month to actually realize this. I figured that the oil-gel name just meant it was more of an oil cleanser in a gel consistency, like balms are essentially just solid forms of oil cleansers. It doesn’t help any that most cleansers, oil or not, are marketed as one-step products that can remove makeup and clean the face perfectly on their own. But yes, you are supposed to use this on wet skin, not dry. It also doesn’t perform anything like an oil cleanser. I do want to compare the wet and dry applications a little bit.100_5359

It felt like I needed to use a bit less product with using this on wet skin, like 1 3/4 to 2 pumps instead of 2 to 2 1/4. Used dry, it felt almost exactly like washing your hands without wetting them first – there’s just something about it not being able to move around enough, I guess. It also was very clean – no Heath Ledger Joker-style smears like most oil cleansers. Both felt like you could add more water to them and work the cleanser up more several times, kind of like the emulsify stage in an oil cleanser. The multiple stages feel more necessary if used dry, just so you can apply the product, add a little water to be able to work with it, and then do the emulsion step.

The results:

I’ve generally had a few problems with different kinds of cleansers, none of which seem to happen here. The fact that it’s an oil-gel hybrid seems to cancel out two of the problems: oil cleansers leaving a film and foaming cleansers stripping my skin. The gel consistency and water mixing seem to make rinsing off a breeze, so I’m not left with any oily residue on my skin. I’m not entirely sure what stops this from being a harsh cleanser, but I wouldn’t be surprised to find that the oils help prevent this.

The final problem that this does not have is specific to foaming cleansing oils. If you use a cleansing oil to remove makeup, you’ll probably use it on/around the eyes, and so it can foam up into my eyes. This does not cause such a problem. Okay, it’s gotten into my eyes two or three times over the fifty-ish times I’ve used it.

The verdict:

I got off to a weird start with the Boscia Tsubaki Oil-Gel Cleanser. However, I feel like it’s very versatile. I’d use it as either the first or second step to a double cleanse.

I would recommend this wholeheartedly to pretty much anyone. It’s lightweight and non-irritating, and I think each person could work this into their skincare routine how they want.

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin
Instagram

Standard

Leave a Reply

