beauty, subscriptions

May 2016 Sephora PLAY!

Hi guys! It’s time for my Sephora PLAY! unboxing.

The background:

Sephora jumped onto the subscription box bandwagon. They will ship six beauty samples directly to your door. Because it’s through Sephora, you can get more well-known brands and can purchase the full sizes in a local brick-and-mortar store. The boxes seem to include several products that everyone receives and a few that can be customized to fit your skincare needs or coloring. I love this level of personalization – it’s not one-size-fits-all but also not seemingly random. There is also a detailed info guide on the products, as well as a coupon for 50 Beauty Insider points and access to other features like tutorials.

The price:

$10.00 a month, including shipping.

The theme:

The Rising Stars. The words themselves remind me of glamorous Hollywood movie stars! Considering the products chosen, it seems to mean brands, styles, and types of products that are gaining popularity.

The bag:

This month’s bag was clear plastic, which was an interesting take. One side does have Play written on it over and over again in different fonts. I noticed that you didn’t really get to read each product through the clear bag, just saw the shape, so even if you like the surprise of pulling out each product one-by-one, it’s not bad. That said, I’m not big on most boxes or bags with subscription boxes because you collect a ton quickly.

The goodies:

Nudestix Magnetic Matte Lip Color in Greystone
Tatcha Pure One Step Camellia Cleansing Oil
Belif Hungarian Water Essence
Trestique Highlight + Perfect Multipurpose Stick in Maldives Luminescent
Rahua Omega 9 Hair Mask
Tocca Stella perfume

100_5294

The Nudestix lippie in Greystone:

This is a very on-trend brown matte lip color. Personally I haven’t really explored brown shades too often and prefer something a bit more natural that I can wear to work. I also have a very warm undertone, and very cool shades, like a lot of the current popular browns and greige shades can look weird on me. However, I did like this! It looks like the color of milk chocolate, and is just warm enough for it to work on a lot of skintones. The stick is also very easy to apply with.

The Tatcha cleansing oil:

Cleansing oils are one of my favorite products to try! I prefer very light, watery ones, and this is a bit thicker. It did work into the skin very easily and removed my makeup well. It has a light floral scent that I can’t quite place but do enjoy! I will finish this off and can go into a more in-depth review if anyone wants me to!

The Belif essence:

I already own this product. It’s a very watery essence that sinks into the skin easily and quickly. It’s hydrating and great for layering with other products, both skincare and makeup.┬áIt’s also definitely a good choice if this is a person’s first essence.

The Trestique stick in Maldives Luminescent:

I first swatched this on my hand and wasn’t impressed. It’s a cool-toned champagne shade and I wasn’t crazy over how the undertone looked on my hand. However, when blended out on the face, it looks gorgeous. It can be more subtle or built up, and can be worn under a powder highlight for even more oomph.

The Rahua hair mask:

I love this scent! It smells very natural and like a garden filled with herbs and some flowers, and it includes sunflower, canola, colza, rahua, lavender, and eucalyptus oils, as well as shea butter. The sample is kind of small – I only can get about two uses out of it. It left my hair feeling very soft and nourished.

The Tocca Stella perfume:

I already own a mini of this perfume that I got in a set, and I’m not crazy over it. I just don’t really care for citrus scents in perfumes. Notes include blood orange, white freesia, and sandalwood.

The verdict:

I liked this month’s box! It was fun and had a good mix of products in it. The perfume is the main dud, which I don’t really mind since perfume is such a personal thing. I also didn’t mind getting two duplicates since I did really enjoy the one product and there were still enough new goodies for me to play with!

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin
Instagram

Standard

Leave a Reply

