beauty, makeup, reviews

Sephora Favorites Quench Your Skin Collection

Hi everyone! A while ago I picked up the Sephora Favorites Quench Your Skin kit, which includes ten travel/sample-sized moisturizers. I enjoy the Sephora kits because I get to try a bunch of products and brands for a really low price, without needing to buy lots of full-size products!

General info/disclaimer: When it comes to testing out skincare, you generally should introduce one product and use it for at least three weeks. I don’t do that here – some of these don’t have enough product and I don’t want to spend such a long time testing them. This kind of set is more for exploring what’s available, anyway.

I don’t like looking up info on these products more than what’s on the packaging. It gives me a more open mind to what each product is like and could make this post a lot longer!

For reference, my skin is acne-prone and more combination/normal-to-dry with an oily chin. I had a lot of acne at first from testing out a different moisturizer than the ones in this set, but as I stopped using it my skin did improve.

The price:

$48.00 for ten samples, which works out to $4.80 per sample.

100_4922

The goodies:

Glamglow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow
Sunday Riley Tidal Brightening Enzyme Water Cream
It Cosmetics Confidence in a Cream Transforming Moisturizing Super Cream
Drunk Elephant Lala Retro Whipped Cream
Belif The True Cream- Aqua Bomb
Kate Somerville Goat Milk Moisturizing Cream
First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream
Dr. Jart Water Drop Hydrating Moisturizer
Ren Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream
Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil

The packaging:

These kits are usually a bit weird with packaging. The entire premise is that you can try brands and products, so it has to show the packaging of each individual product without really uniting them in any way. There’s also not a lot of info about each product, and the benefits and selling points of the individual moisturizers – the parts that make them unique – aren’t really there. I’ve had some kits where the theme/selling point was literally just that they were all skincare.

Despite all that, I do like the box this comes in. It’s got a really cool-looking wave pattern. The darker teal blues and the thick black lines of the design give this a more masculine look, and it’s really great to see that on a beauty product. This style is right up my alley. The box is a sturdy, thick cardboard with a plastic cover to see the products. I kind of wish that it had a secure close (it just has some of that circular tape on it) so then I could reuse the box.

The Glamglow Glowstarter Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow:

I recently reviewed this in my March Sephora Play box. It’s a “glotion” and the first non-pearly illuminating lotion/primer I’ve tried. It doesn’t hydrate my skin well enough on its own, so I have to mix it with something else, and it smells pretty strongly of orange medicine.

The Sunday Riley Tidal Brightening Enzyme Water Cream:

This is probably the thickest watery gel I’ve ever used, both in consistency before application and while on the skin. It smells familiar but I can’t tell what it smells like – I’d like to say seaweed, but I’ve never used any skincare products with seaweed in them. It does slightly irritate my skin a bit around my mouth area, so I wouldn’t recommend this for people with very sensitive skin.

The It Cosmetics Confidence in a Cream Transforming Moisturizing Super Cream:

I had heard that this cream was some sort of perfecting cream, and for some reason that made me think this was supposed to be some sort of BB cream-like product. It’s more natural than that and just seems to make my skin look perfectly hydrated and my pores a lot smaller. It did hide some but not all redness. However, this felt a bit heavy for a day cream so I’m not sure how to best use this.

The Drunk Elephant Lala Retro Whipped Cream:

I really enjoyed this cream. It does have a moussey, whipped consistency but is also a thicker cream, and definitely is thicker than the whipped cream you can eat. I did really enjoy it and felt that it was very nicely moisturizing and while it could be kind of thick, it wasn’t too thick for wearing under makeup or anything.

The Belif The True Cream- Aqua Bomb:

I really like this cream, and I actually picked this up in an earlier Sephora haul, which you can find here. It’s nicely moisturizing and sinks into the skin well. It’s a bit thick so I like this as more of a night cream.

The Kate Somerville Goat Milk Moisturizing Cream:

I also got this in another Sephora skincare kit, here. I wasn’t crazy over it – it comes out of the tube like a lotion but feels thick and almost hard to work with when I rub it into my skin.

The First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream:

I got this waaaay back in an Ipsy bag and was confused by the claims for head-to-toe use, and have since heard it advertised more for the body. It’s lightweight, nearly whipped, but it does leave a slight greasy film. It smells kind of plasticky but light and fresh, and I will probably use this as a hand cream at work.

The Dr. Jart Water Drop Hydrating Moisturizer:

This feels just like adding a ton of water into your skin. It starts out looking like a mattifying gel, but once you’re applying it, it feels super watery and it sinks into the skin easily.

The Ren Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream:

I’m not sure what to think about this cream. It seems like a typical day cream for me, meaning it could be just an average, ho-hum product, or it could be so perfect for me that I don’t really have anything to complain about. It’s not too thick and sinks into my skin easily, and I haven’t had a problem with applying makeup after using it.

The Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil:

I actually just ran out of my last face oil, so this came at a perfect time! I really love the packaging – even though it’s a sample, it still looks and feels very high-quality. I only need about four drops of this for my whole face, and the oil sinks in quickly and easily without feeling too oily. I do need to use this more to find out exactly what this does compared to my last face oil (which was an argan and rose oil blend).

The verdict:

I love this! I think using a kit like this is always a great way to find a new favorite product, and Sephora does seem to give a good variety of products with something for everyone. I did really like some of these products, and their differences and the reasons why I liked them might not have come through perfectly since some of these products are similar. I did like the diversity of products – watery gel formulas, thicker creams, and an oil, as well as products for different uses.

-xo, Andi

Instagram
Bloglovin’

Standard

2 thoughts on “Sephora Favorites Quench Your Skin Collection

    • Some of the products in here are pretty small, which was the main downside, but they’re those products I always see advertised that are way out of my price range and I otherwise probably would never try them! It’s definitely well worth the price!

      Like

Leave a Reply

