beauty, empties

Another Spring Destashing

Hi guys! Back in March I posted about purging a ton of products in my makeup collection. So of course, I’m starting to clean stuff out to move, and I decided to get rid of even more. Some of this is stuff, like nail polish, that I didn’t go through last time, and some of this just needed another push/round. Onto the products!

You can see my first destashing post of the season here.

First up, perfume samples. I recently bought a Sephora perfume sampler kit (haul here), so this is partly from that. I also realized that I have enough perfumes, even just with minis, that I don’t need to keep ones I’m on the fence with.

100_4943

Tori Burch Jolie Fleur Bleue – This reminds me of Michael Kors Glam Jasmine in that I like a lot of the notes and the complexity, but I just don’t like the scent of the main flower used here.

Prada Candy – This is just too sweet for me. I prefer Prada Candy Florale, though.

Marc Jacobs Decadence – I just flat-out don’t like this.

Oscar by Oscar de la Renta – This just smells kind of powdery and a little old lady-ish. I do like the rest of the scent but have other perfumes I don’t have to coax myself to liking every time I use it.

Atelier Cologne Clementine California – I just am not big on citrus scents in perfumes, and this has two. This was from my Sephora Play box (post here).

Bath and Body Works Cashmere Glow and Beautiful Day body sprays – These are about three and a half years old, and it’s time to get rid of them. I liked Cashmere Glow on its own and Beautiful Day was a good perfume topper for a lot of the scents I wore over the years, but I just started leaning to full-on perfumes by themselves after a while. I might repurchase one or both as minis.

Onto nail polish:100_4946

Wet N Wild Wild Shine Black Creme – This is one of my favorite black polishes, but again it’s at least four years old. I have another bottle of this that I’ve used before, so I’m not entirely sure why this is still around.

Sally Hansen I ♥ Nail Art in White – I don’t do a lot of nail art, and every once in a while I’ll try using or buying one of these, only to hate how big and hard-to-use the brushes on these are.

Sally Hansen Hard as Nails in Hard to Get – I just rarely use white nail polish any more. It’s good as an accent color or French tips but I’ve never been a big fan of basic white French tips and don’t ever feel like using accent colors.

Essie Peak of Chic – Again, a white, but this is a textured white sparkle that is annoying to get off. Also I think this was left open a crack and is drying out.

Mac Impassioned – These sorts of corally shades aren’t my thing. I’d rather go for a vibrant true red over anything that’s bright with a lot of pink in it, and this is no exception.

Ulta Cocktail Waitress – Likewise, with reds, I’m really picky and like things that don’t look too pink. This was decent, but I discovered a new metallic red that just beats this one out.

OPI minis – I don’t feel like looking up these names (they’re not written on the minis). One’s from the Nordic collection and the other is from the New Orleans collection (I think). These are just shades I don’t really use, and the OPI minis are so small that it’s almost a nuisance to use.

Hair products:100_4945

Aqua Net Extra Super Hold hairspray – I got this waaaay back in the day because this was the hairspray I used back in middle and high school, and it was the standard for everyone I knew. But I didn’t really use it too often and ended up just using it instead for setting charcoal and graphite drawings for art classes. And I STILL didn’t finish it in over three years.

Oribe Super Fine Hairspray – This was a Birchbox sample and again, I don’t use hairspray any more.

I have to test out a few skincare products before getting rid of them, so here’s skincare:

Laneige Multiberry Yogurt Repairing Mask – I’m not quite sure what it is about this mask that I don’t like, but some of it’s the scent, which is like berries but off somehow. I didn’t find that it did all too much either.

Origins Checks and Balances Frothy Face Wash – This is just too strong for my skin. I love the look and feel of this kind of face wash, which is one of those kind of pearly-looking ones with a texture that looks almost whipped, and this one has a very nice minty scent, but this kind of cleanser always strips my skin.

Josie Maran Surreal Skin Argan Finishing Balm – This was from my latest Sephora Play box, and I just don’t know what this is supposed to do or how to make it work. I get a vaguely pinkish sheen and a thick sort of perfecting primer-like finish that kind of just turns my skin matte-ish. It doesn’t do anything for my skin, and I don’t like whatever its supposed to look like.

Algenist Algae Brightening Mask – I used this once or twice to review it for a Sephora skincare set about six plus months ago, and it was annoying to use. It’s not the easiest consistency to spread, and of course it has some small bits of something that make it even more annoying. I haven’t used it since and am not planning on using it more after I finish other products.

Face makeup:100_4954

Manic Panic Goth White cream/powder foundation – I decided to pick this up on a whim years ago with a hair dye order. I find it really hard to work with and never can get an even application or buildable coverage. For giving yourself a slightly ghastly pallor (like, one shade lighter than your normal skin tone) it could work, but I could never get much out of it for how I’d like to use it, and never reached for it as a cream eyeshadow base or anything. I’m actually surprised that I managed to hit pan on it.

Maybelline Fit Me stick foundation in 330 Toffee – I bought this for contouring and then realized that I just bought a cream product instead of the powder that I prefer for contouring. Plus it’s very warm.

Nyx HD Concealer in Green – It’s old and I don’t use this any more. I stopped using foundation and instead go for BB creams because they’re lighter and easier to apply with fewer products/steps. So this just doesn’t really fit into my routine any more.

Arrow Revive Cooling Cheek Tint in Pink Punch – Another Birchbox sample. I’m not big on cream blushes too much because you have to blend them a lot and then only get a little bit of color on your cheek (as opposed to your finger, which is bright pink), and then you wash away 80% of the color if you use a powder on top. This one in particular is more of a cooler pink than I normally prefer and dries down super quickly so you have to be careful about getting lines from where the product wasn’t blended quick enough. It’s been on my Finish Off list for over a year.

Nyx Color Lip Balm in assorted shades – I just rarely use these. If I want color I usually just grab a lipstick and if I want a balm I reach for my everyday colorless balms. These have just enough color that I have to use a mirror to apply them because I apparently apply balm really messily. I somehow amass enough normal lip balms that I never really want or think about these.

The eye palettes:100_4955

100_4956

Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Palette: I have a really in-depth review of this palette here, which includes all of my problems with the palette. I considered depotting the shades I liked from this palette, but on second thought I wondered, why bother? A lot of the problems with this palette would still be there.100_4716

Urban Decay Vice 4 Palette – My first Vice palette was Vice 3, and this just didn’t really live up to it. It didn’t have the same selection of good matte base shades and had several shades with this one very glittery finish that was kind of hard to work with. The palette just didn’t seem as versatile and I kept on using the same shades to create the same looks. I felt like I already had dupes from Urban Decay for several of these shades too.100_4960

The other eye makeup:100_4949

LOC One & Done Shadow Stick in Impress Me – I don’t use a lot of eyeshadow sticks to begin with. This one is also just too warm for my liking for an everyday shade. It’s pigmented and doesn’t crease, but it just isn’t something I reach for.

Too Faced Glamour Dust in Nude Beam – I’m not a big fan of glitter, and I really don’t like this color. I’ve had this for almost a year and a half and have never used it.

Manna Kadar eyeshadow in Fantasy – Another shade that’s just too warm for my liking. I don’t use a ton of single eyeshadows and am not crazy over the color.

Estee Lauder Pure Color Eyeshadow in Smoky Ember – Once upon a time, I discovered my favorite eyeshadow shade, the original Estee Lauder Smoky, which was my go-to for a single eyeshadow look. I didn’t just hit pan, I used up the entire shadow, and went into Macy’s to get another only to find that the brand just redid their line and got rid of the shade. The woman behind the counter suggested this shade as the replacement, but it just is warmer and lighter than the OG Smoky and doesn’t give the same effect. The swatch actually looks more like Smoky.100_4950

Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeliner in Silver – I loved this for a super cool glittery liner look, since it’s long lasting and pigmented, but it’s old and I haven’t used this in ages.

Ulta Automatic Eyeliner in Lace – I just never got into white eyeliner. I buy one, rarely use it, get rid of it because it’s ancient, and then realize that I want to play around with white liner again so get another. This liner also didn’t really wow me – it’s waxy and thick and a bit tricky to apply, and it always mixes with other makeup.

Ulta Dual Ended Eye Liner in Dark Brown and Black – These actually are easy to use and pigmented, and I can’t really think of why I rarely used these. There was a point in my life where I didn’t like the actual pencil liner where you’d have to sharpen it, and would rather just use one of my twist up liners.

Laura Geller Inkredible Waterproof Gel Eyeliner in Brown Sugar – First, I’m not big on brown liner and would rather use black. Second, it doesn’t last long on my waterline. Do I really need more reasons?100_4965

That’s it for this post. I probably won’t do another of these for a while, since my beauty collection is just small enough that I should be able to handle it now. I do usually put throwaways in empties posts, so long as I’m not getting rid of massive amounts of products like this.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Another Spring Destashing

  1. Oh my goodness that’s a lot of products! Lol. I was so sad to see some high end products in this post but I know that they don’t work out for everyone. I’m still planning on spring cleaning my vanity as well but probably not till I’m done with this college term.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean with those high end products! It took so long to decide to get rid of those palettes, but once I started I want to get rid of more! I noticed the week after I published my last decluttering post that I saw four or five blog reviews of products I just threw away, and they all were positive! It really does depend on the person. Good luck on your spring cleaning in advance!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: April Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

