beauty, reviews, skincare

Sephora Supreme Cleansing Oil Review

Hi guys! One of my favorite beauty products to try and review is a cleansing oil. The differences in the formulas and scents are always super apparent really quickly. So with that in mind, I decided to pick up the Sephora Collection Supreme Cleansing Oil.

The price:

$15.00 for a standard 6.4 fl oz/190 mL. I normally like oil cleansers in the $20-30 range and found drugstore versions to be lower quality. I haven’t tried anything really between the two, so wasn’t sure what to make of this!

The packaging:

This has a standard clear plastic tube with a black pump. The pump does have a twist lock so it can be opened or closed. I can’t remember having any cleansers with the twist lock before and usually prefer the little Y-shaped piece of plastic to “lock” the bottle. I also am not crazy about the pump – it’s really big and looks kind of cheap. It’s weird since Sephora is usually all about high-quality images and packaging.

The text is all a bright teal green and black on the front and white on the back. This helps make all of the text easier to read – whatever you’re reading doesn’t blend in with the color behind it.

The claims:

  • The effectiveness of an oil and the gentleness of a lotion for skin that is immaculately clean without feeling tight.
  • It cleanses and effectively and gently removes any and all types of makeup—even long-lasting formulas— from the face and eyes.
  • Its formula is enriched with nourishing and regenerating cottonseed oil.
  • Its “oil” texture transforms into a lotion when combined with water, leaving the skin incredibly soft and comfortable with no oily film.

The ingredients:

Ethylhexyl Stearate, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Hexyldecyl Stearate, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Tridecyl Trimellitate, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Gossypium Herbaceum (Cotton) Seed Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Retinyl Palmitate, BHT.

I love that this doesn’t use mineral oil as the main oil! Mineral oil-based cleansing oils feel really thick on my face, and it seems like I have to use a ton more product to even be able to spread it over my skin.

The scent:

I’ve never tried two cleansing oils that smelled anything like each other, and I think the scent is a great way to make a cleansing oil stand out. This smells like avocado and banana to me, which happen to be the two fruits that I hate (honestly I can’t think of any fruit I don’t like as much as these two).

The use:

This is thin enough for me to spread over my face easily. However, it wasn’t quite as thin as I normally prefer.

I will sometimes use cleansing oils in the shower, as the steam can open pores and allow more oil to be drawn out. I was previously using a thick cleansing oil in the shower, so I’m not sure if I’m used to the other one or what, but this almost seems too thin for the shower. Something a little thicker or harder to mix with water is easier for my face in the shower.

At a few points when I used this my hands skidded against my skin as I was rinsing this off. That was the first time I’ve noticed a really weird sensation on a cleansing oil. It’s harder to rinse all of it off, and any leftover product can again feel a bit tacky. This does seem to mix with water pretty well.

The verdict:

This will be returned, almost solely from a scent standpoint. This is an okay oil cleanser, but isn’t the best, definitely not enough to make up for the scent.

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin’
Instagram

Standard

2 thoughts on “Sephora Supreme Cleansing Oil Review

Leave a Reply

