beauty, reviews, skincare

Lush Mask of Magnaminty

Hi guys! Today’s review is for the Lush Mask of Magnaminty. This is actually my very first purchase from Lush! I never got a chance to visit a store until I started my current job

My skin type (for reference): More of combination skin with a normal-to-oily chin, dry areas around my eyes, nose, and mouth, and normal cheeks and forehead. I do suffer from acne on both my face and body. I personally prefer using both acne-fighting and hydrating products on my skin.

The price:

$14.95 for 4.4 oz. Lush USA also lists an 11.1 oz version for $26.95, but when I bought this I’m pretty certain that there was a third size as well.

The packaging:

Lush’s packaging is pretty low-key because they go for sustainability. It’s a standard Lush black tub with stickers for the product info and expiration date/made by info. And in case you forget, it includes a reminder that you can bring in six empty pots for a free face mask!

The ingredients:

100_4888

Bentone Gel, Kaolin, Honey, Talc, Ground Aduki Beans (Phaseolus Angularis), Glycerine, Evening Primrose Seeds (Oenothera biennis), Peppermint Oil (Mentha piperita), African Marigold Oil (Tagetes erecta), Vanilla Absolute (Vanilla Planifolia), Limonene, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Chlorophyllin.

Heads up, this does have fragrance in it!

The scent:

This smells strongly of peppermint. At first I couldn’t place the scent, knowing it wasn’t just basic mint but recognizing it without being able to tell what. It can be a bit strong at first and it definitely made my nose run a little when I first started using this! The first few times I actually thought it might be too strong of a scent and that I’d have to wash it off right away. It doesn’t really do that any more – I don’t know if that’s because my body got used to it or if it’s something with my allergy medicine or whatever.

The shelf life:

This mask has a four-month shelf life. I actually bought this about three weeks after it was made, and was planning on trying to finish up a few other masks before really using this a whole lot, but the shelf life changed that!

100_4887

Honestly, I probably won’t be able to finish this up by April 21 unless I use this on my body more. I have about a third of this left, so I doubt I’ll get completely through it! To finish it all solely by using it on my face, I’d probably have to use this twice a week for all four months. And that’s just for the smallest size! Unless you’re sharing it with about five people or use this on your body as often as your face, I don’t see how you could need the 11 oz size. At least this doesn’t need to be refrigerated!

The consistency:

The back claims that some of its ingredients make it a very smooth mask to apply, which is great, but there’s also something that’s ground up pretty coarsely (I think it’s the aduki beans). The coarser pieces kind of roll up into larger pieces when I spread this on, and it’s a lot harder to get the mask very even because of this.

100_4925

The use:

I use this after completely cleansing my face. I know some people like using masks in between removing makeup and using a water-based cleanser, but I find that masks work better after and that my skin is less likely to be stripped as much. Using some micellar water or even just my usual toner can help me remove any leftover mask that I haven’t washed off.

I normally leave this mask on for around 15-20 minutes, and it’ll start to dry and show off my pores like a charcoal mask does. It usually isn’t completely dry at that point, but that’s mostly because of how coarse it is and how thick the product is in some areas. Some of those ground beans will start to fall off pretty easily if I touch my face at that point, and it’s a great way to tell that it’s time to wash it off before I make more of a mess.

I’ve only used this on my body once, and don’t feel like that’s enough to truly test out a product enough to review. This is labeled as a mask that can be used on the body, which is actually the first mask I’ve encountered that actually states that. I usually just put masks on my body on dry skin and rinse it off in the shower before washing like usual.

The benefits:

As mentioned above, this does clean out and tighten my pores, but it also leaves my skin feeling very soft and plump at the same time. The first time I used this, I loved that feeling because I normally only feel that after moisturizer, not on bare, clean skin! It doesn’t quite clean and tighten as much as some other masks, but it also won’t leave my skin feeling too tight or stripped and has added benefits that make up for it not being quite as effective as my usual.

This does tingle and I already mentioned that the peppermint does clear out my nose. If you’re feeling a bit stuffy from spring allergies I think this could give you at least a little temporary relief for a few hours.

The verdict:

The Mask of Magnaminty is a great mask! It combines two of the things that I look for in skincare but are usually exclusive of one another. It doesn’t quite do enough to my pores on its own, but alternated with another mask that does do more, I really enjoy it. The expiration time is annoying, but there are ways around that. I’d definitely recommend at least trying this, if you can get to a Lush store.

What other Lush products should I try? I’m interested in their shampoos but can’t use their bath bombs due to no functioning bathtub.

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin’
Instagram

Standard

3 thoughts on “Lush Mask of Magnaminty

  1. Pingback: April Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

