beauty, empties

Spring Cleaning

Hi guys! If you don’t know, yesterday was the first day of spring, which makes it the perfect time to share my spring cleaning (even if I decided to toss most of these back in like February). I usually go through my beauty collection and get rid of a ton of stuff about every six months, and this time around there’s a TON of products!

100_4781100_4783

100_4792Marcelle Waterproof Eyeliner in Indigo – The color is pretty, but it applies very unpigmented on my eye (unlike the swatch).

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Perversion – This is over three years old, and the UD formula can be a bit irritating on my eyes, so I’d rather play it safe. I’ve never worn this as my everyday pencil, which is probably why it’s so old.

100_4807Pacifica Eyeshadow in Ethereal – I don’t really reach for a lot of single eyeshadows, especially a very pale shade like this where I’d only ever use it as a highlight shade and never on my actual lid. I’m also just not crazy over how it applies, though it is very buttery.

Hikari Cream Pigment in Mink – I actually really like this color, but I’m not crazy over cream eyeshadow or the single packaging.

Milani Eye Shadow in Clover – It’s old, and I have a lot of similar shades in palettes that I wear more often. It’s gorgeous, which is why I never wanted to get rid of it.

Ulta Eye Shadow in Eggplant – At one point in the past, I wanted a matte burgundy shade to recreate a black eye. It’s old, I’m not crazy over the formula and pigmentation, I prefer cooler plum shades to warmer maroon and prefer shimmer to matte, etc.

Pixi by Petra Mesmerizing Mineral Duo in Lavender Bloom – This duo has always confused me. The shades just don’t work together. They’re about the same in darkness/value, but are different colors and finishes. Both are pretty, but there’s all the problems of single shades mixed with annoyance at the worst possible duo ever.

100_4800Makeup Revolution Iconic 1 eyeshadow palette – I don’t use this a lot, and every time I do use it, I end up using the same shades and make the same look or two. One of my favorite shades in the palette (the fourth from the left) is one I never use because it doesn’t seem to stand out or go with the others as well. I don’t like nude palettes and only feel the need to have one – and this isn’t it. It’s supposed to be a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked palette. I own about half the shades from the palette, from other UD palettes, and only about half the shades that I could compare were what I’d consider dupes. I’d prefer the Naked palette because I can see how the original shades complement all of the others so much more.

100_4819Too Faced Cat Eye palette – This is one of Too Faced’s standard nine-shade palettes, but it’s kind of gimmicky where three shades are wet/dry (except for how all shades can be used wet or dry, so the gimmick falls flat). The liner shades are all very similar and have a horribly chalky formula, and the pale all-over shades are similar, too. The pigmentation is spotty, the formulas are wildly different, and the looks are all very similar. Review here.

100_4805Estee Lauder palette – this was a free gift with purchase. These shades are taken from a line of five-shade palettes, with one or two shades taken from each. Most of these shades are unpigmented and/or very dry and powdery. It looks like a good collection of colors, until I go to use it and feel like there are too many pale shades and only one midtone.

100_4835

e.l.f. Blush Palette in Dark – It’s just too dark and too pigmented for my pale skin. It’s gone untouched for months because I just end up feeling like a clown in so much blush, even with a very light hand.

Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips in Miami Strip – These have a weird layer of product on the top of the shades that makes the pigmentation go down. I’m also not super crazy over them. I don’t use them as eyeshadow, and have highlighters I like more (for when I wear highlight to begin with), so I’m giving them up. Review here.

100_4765

e.l.f. Hydrating Primer – I wasn’t wowed by this. It left my skin feeling vaguely greasy on the top layer without getting deep enough into the skin, and then it disappeared after like two hours. Review here.

Laura Geller Baked Liquid Radiance Foundation in Fair – I’ve moved away from foundations and towards BB creams, and never really cared for this foundation. It’s lower coverage than I prefer and very thick and sticky. Mini review here.

L’Oreal True Match Foundation in W2 and W3 – I’m always between shades in this range, although I can get away with W2 in winter and W3 in summer, and pouring the foundation out is kind of messy. I do like this, but I have a foundation I prefer more and only want to keep one around.

Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation in 5.0 and 8.0 – These were from a sample set to find a shade. I kept these around for contouring, but I’d rather just chuck them.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Concealer in 3.0 or 3.5 – One of these shades from this trial size is an empty, and the other is just the wrong undertone. They’re also darker than my skin (I’m either in the 1 or 2 range).

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 20 Sand – This applies nicely and is very creamy, but that’s about it for pros. It’s not pigmented enough for my undereye area or my acne, and it gives my skin a weird texture compared to the rest of my face, so whatever I’m trying to hide stands out even more. I know a lot of people love this, but I’ve never been able to get this to work for me.

100_4779100_4780

Revlon ColorStay Moisture Stain in New York Scene – One of my favorite red shades, but it’s more of a brick red. The formula is pretty weird, like a pigmented gloss that disappears after a while and leaves a stain. It’s pretty old. Review here.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Monte Carlo and Havanna – Monte Carlo isn’t up to my standards for red lipstick and has too much pink in it. I have other shades I like more. Havanna looks like a fun color but is very unpigmented and hard to layer.

LOC x Tati Vibrant Matte Lipstick in Glam Life – I don’t wear a lot of this berry shade.

Trestique Mini Matte Lip Crayon in Nantucket Nude – It’s taken over a year to say I’m not really crazy over this nude for my skin’s undertone.

Burt’s Bees Lipstick in Sunset Cruise – I can’t wear a lot of coral and peach-y shades because of my undertone. If something’s too orange-y, it looks like I ate a bag of Cheetos and have the orange dust all over my lips. This is right on the edge of maybe being the wrong undertone and being hard to tell.

Butter London Moisture Matte Lipstick in Toff – The formula is actually pretty drying, despite the name. Or at least it was the most drying lipstick I tried when I first got it, before I tried matte shades or liquid lipsticks. Again, also old.

Tarte Amazonian Butter Lipstick in Sweet Peach – I find buttery lipsticks are a bit light on pigmentation and don’t apply that well without really rubbing my lips together a lot. The shade is actually more flattering on me, unlike the Burt’s Bees one, but the formula is the main problem.

Wet n Wild lipstick in Dark Pink Frost – this is like a medium pink, in my opinion, not dark. It’s pretty, with gold shimmer, and when swatching it I wonder why I don’t wear it more. But if I never wear it, I should get rid of it instead.

L’oreal Colour Riche Lipstick in Peach Fuzz – It doesn’t really suit me, and the scent is this thick, cloying sweet chemical scent.

100_4761

Boscia Detoxifying Black Cleanser – I tried using this as my main cleanser, and it made my acne so bad! I’ve kept it around to use it once in a blue moon, but it’s just not for me.

Acure Pore Minimizing Facial Scrub – I like that this is a brownish product that foams up white as you work with it on the skin. I can see exactly where I’ve already used the scrub. It also doesn’t strip my skin or anything, but it’s a bit too weak and doesn’t do enough.

e.l.f. Daily Hydrating Moisturizer – I’m not sure if I was using too much of this or what, but I would always get a weird film on my skin after using this, like the product didn’t really sink in right.

Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentre – This uses mineral oil as a main ingredient, and it works horribly because it just feels really thick on the top layer of skin without sinking in. Read a more in-depth review here.

Burt’s Bees Naturally Nourishing Milk & Honey Body Lotion – This is something kind of old and it smells really weird. I’m not sure if it’s because it’s old or what, but I don’t like the scent and it doesn’t smell anything like milk or honey.

DKNY Green Apple perfume – I got this in a set of minis, and this just smells like green Jolly Ranchers to me. I’ve never been crazy over super sweet perfumes and feel like it’s just too one-note for a real perfume.

Oscar de la Renta perfume sample – This just isn’t my style, either. It smells kind of powdery,  if that makes

That’s it for this purge! I hope you enjoyed it and could see why I’d get rid of things.

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin’
Instagram

Standard

3 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning

  1. Pingback: Another Spring Destashing | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

