beauty, empties

December Empties

Hi guys! Happy 2017! It’s the beginning of a new month, so let’s get to December’s empties! This month was all about finishing up samples, since I have so many from subscription boxes, gifts with purchase, and on and on.

First up is body and hair.

100_4739

I really liked the Marc Jacobs Honey perfume sample. I’m not good at describing perfume scents, but from Sephora, the notes are: Pear, Juicy Mandarin, Orange Blossom, Peach Nectar, Apricot, Honeysuckle, Honey, Golden Vanilla, Smooth Woods. It’s a great scent that I liked for work – it’s not too cutesy sweet or too overpowering.
Would I repurchase? Yes.

The Juara Candlenut Body Creme was just too tiny a sample. There wasn’t enough product for me to put on my legs, let alone my whole body. The scent was very nice, though – fresh with a bit of warmth, and definitely a good nut scent.
Would I repurchase? No, mostly because I don’t know where to buy it other than Birchbox.

I went through my second Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle sample, as well. I’m not as crazy over this (or at least over the cheap packaging with a poor spray nozzle) as other products. I’d rather have a leave-in conditioner in a detangler, rather than a heat protector, since I don’t use heat often.
Would I repurchase? No.

I’m not all that crazy over this amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo, either. Again, this is a second sample of the product and it’s an okay dry shampoo but there are definitely better ones out there!
Would I repurchase? No.

Onto skincare!

100_4740

I finally went through these Neutrogena makeup removing wipes. I’m not a big fan of wipes, and these are no exception! They’re a bit rough, especially for how many times you have to go over each area, and I’ve never removed all of the makeup with a wipe. I like using these for things like swatches.
Would I repurchase? Maybe, since they’re so cheap.

I really liked the Real Chemistry Luminous 3 Minute Peel. I used peels the wrong way before, and so some of liking this is liking how a peel works when it’s used the right way. As you apply this and rub it into your skin, balls of dead skin form and it’s so satisfying.
Would I repurchase? Maybe. I want to try other peels first.

I finished off the Mario Badescu Drying Mask. This is a sample size, and while the pot looks big, about half of it is just plastic and so can’t hold any product. It’s disappointing packaging, for sure! I really liked the mask itself, though. It uses kaolin clay and sulfur for removing impurities, plus calamine for calming the skin. It does smell pretty strongly from the sulfur.
Would I repurchase? Yeah.

I also really enjoyed this Organic Pharmacy Purifying Seaweed Clay Mask. Again, mainly kaolin clay as the base. It’s the first non-black/charcoal mask I’ve tried that pulls oil out of each pore and makes each pore look wet from absorbing oil.
Would I repurchase? Probably, again it’s about finding it. I might try other seaweed masks, too, though.

100_4741

I picked up the Lumene Bright Touch Refreshing Toner. I ran out of toner, went to CVS, and this was pretty much the only one I could find. My mouth area would sometimes get a bit irritated from this but it had a nice, fresh scent and it seemed decent.
Would I repurchase? If I’m in a pinch, again.

I finally got through the Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate. It’s a face oil, which I’m not crazy about, but I found that it worked really well around my nostril area, since my allergy medicine can dry it out. I’d use a small amount in the morning and blend out any excess oil onto the rest of my face.
Would I repurchase? Probably not. It’s an expensive oil, and I just got a new prescription for my old allergy medicine that doesn’t dry out my nose, so I shouldn’t need an oil as much.

I didn’t like the Marcelle Lumi Power New Age 3-in-1 moisturizer. It had a thick formula more like a night or eye cream, but gave such little hydration that it was more like a day cream. It may have irritated my skin a bit, but I finished it off early in December and can’t remember.
Would I repurchase? No.

I also got through this Laneige Water Sleeping Mask. It’s my first sleeping mask, and I did really like it. I went through a lot of this when I was sick, and it was a watery gel that did leave my skin more hydrated.
Would I repurchase? I have another of this sample size, but yes!

I went through these Up & Up cotton pads (which I use almost exclusively for skincare). This brand is the most consistent  – others seem to switch their patterns/quality and size count a lot, and can disappear from stores. I also like these cotton pads and find that they do the best job.

100_4736

I went through my Benefit Gimme Brow sample in shade 3. I liked the original formula, but didn’t like just having two shades since I was right in the middle and never knew which to choose. The new packaging and brow line really improved this. Most days, this would be all I’d use on my brows and I used literally everything in the tube!
Would I repurchase? Yes. It’s expensive, but I’ll break down eventually and buy it because most of the other brow gels I have and know of don’t have the color or the great brush!

My Kat Von D Ink Liner deluxe sample in Trooper is now dried out. I liked it, but it didn’t wow me or anything. I do want to try the Tattoo Liner, which is what everyone raves about, but I’m kind of curious why Kat Von D has both liners since they’re so similar and one is pretty obviously better.
Would I repurchase? No. I know some liners that are just as good for half the price.

I have an eos stick lip balm. I’m pretty certain this is a pomegranate scent, but it could be like a raspberry and either way it smells gross and fake. I don’t like the super bulky packaging, and the formula isn’t hydrating at all. It’s slightly better than their egg packaging, since half of it isn’t just empty air or wasted product, it’s slimmer and therefore easier to carry around, and it requires less pressure to deposit product on my lips.
Would I repurchase? Hell no.

That’s it for this month. Going through more of my stash is a 2017 resolution, so I’m prepared to get rid of even more! I’d love to finish up more makeup products especially!

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin’
Instagram

Standard

Leave a Reply

