beauty, makeup, reviews

Nyx Dark Circle Corrector

Hi guys! I recently started a new job in December, and I’ve been changing up my makeup routine because of it. I’m using a fast(ish) routine with very few, simple steps that will last eleven-plus hours. One of the products I’ve been using is the Nyx Dark Circle Corrector in 2 Light.

The price:

Around $5. I bought this at Ulta, and picked this up with one of their buy one get one 50% off sales, and other stores may carry it with a lower ticket price and/or sales of their own.

100_4668

The packaging:

This came in a black cardboard box with white lettering. It’s a small box and pretty minimalist. I don’t have the box any more (I bought this over the summer).

This is a pot concealer with a standard clear base and a black screw lid. The lid is again glossy with white lettering. The edges are all rounded, and the top has a slight curve to it so stacking things on top of it is tricky.

I’m pretty neutral about this packaging. It’s useful and standard, but the slight curves make it the tiniest bit annoying for stacking things on top of it, and it doesn’t seem completely minimalist because of the curves.

100_4671

The application:

I’ve always heard that you shouldn’t use thick, creamy pot concealers under your eyes because they’re too thick and can look heavy. I’ve found some that do work pretty well in the under eye area, but seeing a color-correcting concealer meant for the under eye area specifically in a pot is kind of jarring (pun not intended).

I normally use a brush to apply this concealer. It’s from Wet n Wild and I think is called either the concealer brush or large concealer brush (the name isn’t on the brush itself). It can be a bit hard to work with at first (body heat can help warm up thicker concealers to a thinner consistency) and may look a little streaky or patchy.

I don’t like using my fingers to pick up product. The pot is small enough that if my nail isn’t cut super short, I can get concealer under my nails and it’s messy and a pain. It is easy to pick up product, apply, and blend out, because of the heat in my fingers, but I also find that if I’m not careful I can also accidentally smear it and pick up extra product. It can be a mess when applying foundation or BB cream after this. Because of that, I normally prefer using a brush just a bit more because I can blend it out with more precision.

I’ve never tried using a beauty sponge with this. I’ve largely stopped using the sponges, since they need to be washed after every couple uses, max, and are a pain to wash. If I’m going to scoop up and apply the concealer to my under eye area with my finger, I might as well blend it out with my finger, too. Applying products like concealer with a sponge soaks up a TON of extra product, too, and the pot isn’t really big enough to pick up a lot of product on a sponge, anyway.

100_4676

The color and coverage:

I actually did what you’re not supposed to do – I bought the shade that matches my skin shade, not the shade of my dark circles. Color correcting is more effective when using the shade that matches what you’re correcting, and the under-eye area can look better with a slightly darker shade than a lighter one.

I already mentioned the fingers vs brush coverage above, but find that I can get good coverage either way. For the amount of product I use, though, I get much better coverage than with normal concealers. Peach and orange tones cancel out the purple tones in my dark circles, rather than flat-out covering them. I can get away with just using a little BB cream or foundation to make sure the color is skin-toned, not peach, without an extra concealer on top. Which means fewer layers of product to crease, smudge, or fade, plus less time to apply and an extra step/product removed from my routine.

100_4664

The wear:

The wear really depends on what I put on top of this and how much I put on. I normally start with a very light layer of eyelid primer to stop creasing, and just wear the BB cream or foundation mentioned above and some powder on top. Despite that, I can get really different results without really knowing how or why. Some days, it looks really good. Others, it can look super powdery and/or crease right off the bat. I’m still trying to figure out how, since it seems to be from how I apply all the makeup.

I also normally forget to check up on my makeup throughout the day to see how it holds up, unless I remember at the very end of the day. If it doesn’t crease at the beginning of the day, it seems to last the whole day with only minor creasing. I do think some of it is because of the eyelid primer. It only fades slightly through the day, as well.

The verdict:

This is a bit of a weird concealer. However, despite that, I do really like it. It gives great coverage and can last a while. For the price point, I’m more than willing to overlook the oddball problems with the application. If you’re looking for an under-eye color corrector, I would really recommend the Nyx Dark Circle Corrector!

-xo, Andi

Instagram
Bloglovin’

Standard

7 thoughts on “Nyx Dark Circle Corrector

    • This isn’t meant to be used over blemishes and I’ve never tried it that way. Depending on your skin’s undertone, it could be possible. When it comes to color correcting, you generally want to use the color on the opposite side of the color spectrum. For acne and redness, green is a better color choice. Dark circles have more purple undertones in them, but using yellow (the opposite of purple) can make skin look sickly and sallow, especially on the delicate undereye area where you don’t want a ton of makeup and since yellow is a pale shade and dark circles are, well, dark. Peach is a good compromise that can cover the purple without looking sallow. If you’re interested in color correction, you may want to try Nyx’s color correcting palette or their individual HD Concealer (they have a green, yellow, and lavender, and I’ve mixed the green and yellow to create a custom shade before). You might want to check out other articles on color correcting for more info, too.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Beauties on Fire: Night Out | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

