beauty, reviews, skincare

Battle of the Cleansing Oils

Hi guys! Today’s review is a double review of two cleansing oils: The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter and Skinfood Black Sugar Cleansing Oil.

I’ve already tried The Body Shop’s Camomile Cleansing Oil. I apparently don’t have a full review of it (I thought I did) but essentially liked it without knowing why I didn’t love it. I decided to try the balm version because I could compare my first cleansing balm to an oil.

The prices:

I think I got the TBS one for $16 or $18, with 2.7 oz. This is the first cleansing balm I’ve tried, so I can’t compare it to other balms, but the cleansing oil from this line is $21 for 6.75 oz. I got it from the TBS store in my mall.

The Skinfood one is also $21, for 6.75 oz, which is more in line with what I’m willing to pay for the amount of product received. I picked this up at my local Ulta.

The packaging:

TBS did something very different for the flat metal container, rather than their more typical plastic containers. It works well for this line, along with the simplistic and fresh feel of the labels. The labels are pretty standard for TBS – a lot of very basic info translated into a bunch of languages, obviously meant for a European market and not American as much. Surprisingly, it does give a description of the product and directions in here, which is the first time I’ve noticed it on TBS packaging.. The big thing to note is that the package spells it “camomile” without the h. I’m not sure if it’s a British English thing or a TBS thing, but it’s weird.

The Skinfood oil is in a dark brown bottle to tie in with the black sugar (some products in this line also have the dark brow shade, but not all). I like the pump tip’s shape – it’s really easy to get your hand under it without product running down your hand or the bottle, and it’s a thinner, more streamlined shape. I have noticed that the pump sometimes doesn’t pull fully up after a pump and that the second pump isn’t always a full pump. The front label is in English with a basic description and beneficial ingredients. The entire back is in Korean, so this doesn’t list ingredients or directions for most Americans. This did come plastic-wrapped, so there may have been an English label on that, although replacing the front label and covering the back is also weird. I’m more okay with this being all in Korean than the chamomile misspelling.

The ingredients:

For the TBS cleanser (from their website):

Ethylhexyl Palmitate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Synthetic Wax (Binder/Emollient), PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Olea Europaea Fruit Oil/Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (Emollient), Butyrospermum Parkii Butter/Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter (Skin Conditioning Agent – Emollient), Caprylyl Glycol (Skin Conditioning Agent), Tocopherol (Antioxidant), Parfum/Fragrance (Fragrance Ingredient), Aqua/Water/Eau (Solvent), Linalool (Fragrance Ingredient), Limonene (Fragrance Ingredient), Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil/Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil (Emollient), Anthemis Nobilis Flower Extract (Skin Conditioning Agent), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster).

I want to point out that the chamomile in here is the second-to-last ingredient and that the company tries to hide it by not mentioning the common name. It is common for brands to be inconsistent with giving only the Latin name or the Latin and common name, but when it’s in the name of the product, I’d expect the common name to be listed to really prove that it’s there. The website mentions what each ingredient is used for, which is a nice touch, but a head’s up that these aren’t on the packaging.

For the Skinfood cleanser (from Ulta’s website):

Glycerophosphocholineethylhexyl Palmitate, Peg-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Peg-10 Isostearate, Bis-Ethoxydiglycol Cyclohexane 1, 4-Dicarboxylate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Water, Fragrance, Dimethicone, Black Sugar Extract, Sodium Pca, Betaine, Threonine, Sorbitol, Proline, Lysine, Lepidium Meyenii Root Extract, Glutamic Acid, Arginine, Alanine, Butylene Glycol, Cholesterol, Citrus Limon (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Carica Papaya (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Serine, Glycine, Alcohol Denat., Rice Ferment Filtrate (Sake), Hydrogenated Lecithin, 1, 2-Hexanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Ceramide Np, Sarcodon Aspratus Extract, Sucrose, Ethylhexylglycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Disodium Edta

I don’t want to attempt pronouncing that first word. I do know that a lot of the first ingredients help the oil emulsify. Scrolling down a couple lines is where you first see the real oils, and I’m so excited by them! Jojoba, olive, evening primrose, macademia, and on and on!

The testing process:

I had both of these for a while before deciding to test them, so had used both independently. For a direct conparison, I used one on one side of my face and then the other on the other side, using them mostly consistently over a week.

The feel:

I prefer thinner cleansing oils. The thicker ones I’ve used were primarily mineral oil-based and tended to leave a film on my skin. The Skinfood oil was not only light enough for me, but may have been the thinnest consistency I’ve ever used! I loved it.

The Skinfood oil is easy to emulsify. It becomes very milky all over my face, unlike a lot of oils where my forehead doesn’t really get emulsified. It also therefore washes off easily.

Cleansing balms are a lot thicker but are supposed to melt into a thinner oil when they come into contact with body heat. I’ve seen a review or two of a balm that would liquify so much that it would start to run on a finger. The Body Shop’s doesn’t really liquify so much as soften and spread. It rubs in easily but doesn’t get runny, which can be a plus. It can have some small thicker bits, almost as if it had dried down some and then flaked or something, which you can pick up on your hands but do work into the same consistency as the rest of the balm. You can see a couple of them below along the pan.100_4653

Again, it doesn’t really emulsify much and can be a bit tough to rinse away (and therefore can leave a residue). I think it has something to do with the fact that it is a balm with a thicker consistency. It seems to come off the best when using techniques like steaming the face and rinsing with a cloth. That’s not something I’m willing to do every day, either.

The scent:

The Skinfood one is a bit perfumed with a complex sugar-and-lemon scent, but not like lemonade. I really like it. The TBS one smells like chamomile, which honestly isn’t my favorite.

The cleansing use:

This entire double review started because I felt like I still had a lot of makeup on after using the TBS balm. I wanted to be able to test it against the TBS cleansing oil but only had the Skinfood one to test against.

Long story short, no, the TBS balm doesn’t remove as much makeup. I used the Simple Micellar Water on two cotton pads and the TBS side was worse with face makeup. It seemed to do a bit better with eye makeup but the Skinfood one is better at removing makeup overall.

I had to use what feels like a lot of product for the balm. Scooping it out means less precise amounts, but I’d say I use the same amount of product, if not more, as an oil. The small amount of product in the container doesn’t help any. The Skinfood oil doesn’t need a lot of product at all – between one and two pumps. They might be larger pumps than other cleansing oils, but the thinness means I can spread the product out easily without using as much product!

The verdict:

The Skinfood cleansing oil is the winner. I’m not sure if this balm is just so-so, or if what I prefer in an oil is found more in something watery than a balm. Either way, the Skinfood oil may just be my favorite overall oil cleanser!

-xo, Andi

Instagram
Bloglovin

Standard

3 thoughts on “Battle of the Cleansing Oils

  1. Pingback: March Empties | EverImpractical

  2. Pingback: April 2017 Empties! | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

