beauty, reviews, subscriptions

October Birchbox

Hi everyone! It’s time for this month’s Birchbox!

This month’s theme: Revive and Restore. I can really see the goodies reflecting the theme this month, which is exciting because sometimes the theme doesn’t translate to the samples. I also enjoyed it as a theme, since I really enjoy skincare and sometimes you need a bit of extra love for your skin.

The box: It has several vertical strips that all look pretty nice together. The bottom box is a plain tan shade, which I really liked compared to some of the disaster designs of the past few months. Overall, I liked it but still felt like Birchbox has done even better designs.

The goodies:

PARLOR by Jeff Chastain Smoothing Blowout Spray
BioRepublic Cucumber Breeze Soothing Fiber Mask
MAKE Silk Cream Lipstick in Taffy
Marcelle Xtension Plus Curl Mascara
Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel

The PARLOR spray:

I first saw that this listed frizz-fighting on it and really wanted to try it out! I usually let my hair air-dry, which gives me more frizz, but I sometimes use a hairdryer if I don’t want wet hair. I used this to help protect my hair when I used a hairdryer, focusing it mainly at the scalp, and it did seem to help my frizz some. It also smells really good (I received a shampoo sample from this line that smells just as good!).

The BioRepublic sheet mask:

I was a bit hesitant to try this mask, because I’ve had a couple masks and a majority of products with cucumber that irritate my skin (I’m not sure if it is the cucumber or not, though). I have to say that this didn’t seem to do much of anything other than typical hydration from a sheet mask. It wasn’t dripping serum like some sheet masks, which means less mess, but still delivered a decent amount of hydration. I definitely have other favorites, though!

The Make lipstick:

This is such a small baby lipstick! I’ve gotten lipstick minis before, but this is the smallest. You really have to make a lot of passes on the lips because of the size, kind of like a lip brush. It’s a bit on the sheer side but can be built up, and it has a very pretty finish, closer to a satin. It’s a darker pink, nearly fuchsia shade, which isn’t really something I wear much. It feels and smells like an organic lipstick, neither of which I can really describe well. This also has a lot of benefits for the lips.

The Marcelle mascara:

Seriously, Birchbox, another mascara? I ALWAYS complain about having too many mascara samples and try to only have 1-2 open at once but to replace them every 3 months. Usually Birchbox sends a mascara to me every couple months, but they just sent one last month, too. This is unopened mascara #6, which means I will probably get around to using it next summer or so. I don’t open these up, even just to see the wand, because that will start to dry the mascara out.

The Real Chemistry peel:

I’ve never really used a peel like this before, so I’m probably not the best person to review peels. I was simultaneously weirded out by and loving the way my dead skin cells balled up on my face as I used this. I’d consider buying a peel at some point, but I also have a million samples of scrubs and other exfoliants that I would rather go through.

The verdict:

Honestly, not super impressed this month. Again. Birchbox has really been letting me down lately. It definitely wasn’t as bad as last month’s box (which you can read about here) but also not a good box.

-xo, Andi

Instagram
Bloglovin’

Standard

One thought on “October Birchbox

  1. Pingback: October Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

