subscriptions

September 2016 Birchbox

Hi guys! I had to take a few weeks off from blogging because life was getting a little hectic, but I’m back! I know it’s a bit late, but it’s time for this month’s Birchbox!

The theme:

“Go Forth And Multitask”. It would have been a better theme if I actually got more than one/two multitasking products.

The shipping:

I just want to point out that I used to always get my box on the 10th of each month. For the past six months or so, I’ve been getting it late. Usually, I get the shipping email, and it takes two days of “Your box is ready and waiting to ship” from Birchbox. This month’s box left the shipping facility after the 10th.

The box:

The top is adorable, with a ton of rectangles in different colors. It looks like sprinkles, honestly. The bottom, though, is white words on a dark box in an overdone font. It looks like Birchbox ran out of ideas for the pattern, and it doesn’t even match the top.

The goodies:

Milk Makeup Lip + Cheek Tint
Mally Volumizing Mascara
Beautiful Nutrition Lemon Rinse
Dr. Brandt Pores No More cleanser
Escada Aqua Del Sol perfume

The Milk Makeup tint:

First off, I chose the highlighter stick as my sample choice and know for a fact that I got the email confirmation. Anyone know if I can complain to Birchbox about this?

I really don’t like this. I like powder blushes, since they’re easier to use and control without three quarters of the product rubbing or fading away. I don’t use lip stains, either. And while this stick might be easier to use than the others, it smells pretty badly, like fake lemon and cheap lipstick mixed together.

The Mally mascara:

I love getting mascara samples, because the smaller packaging means that less product gets wasted once it dries out, and that I can try more mascaras. But I have a ton of closed mascaras that I want to use before this one.

The Beautiful Nutrition hair rinse:

First of all, this clarifying treatment is supposed to be used after shampoo and conditioner, which seems a bit weird to me since you’re cleaning your hair directly after putting product in it. The directions say to put enough of this to saturate your hair with this, from scalp to tip. My hair was already wet from washing it, so I squeezed out extra water before applying about half the bottle (my hair is super thick and goes down to about my waist). I didn’t notice any difference from using this.

The Dr. Brandt cleanser:

Again, I have a ton of other cleansers to go through and lately my skin’s been acting up so I’ve been using my Mario Badescu Acne Facial Cleanser. I tried this once but didn’t notice a big difference with my pores just from the one use.

The Escada perfume:

This is a really nice, tropical perfume with sandalwood, mandarin, and apricot nectar. It’s pretty, but it’s a summery scent that is completely wrong for September, and I’ll have to keep it until like April to even consider wearing this again.

The verdict:

I hated this month’s box. It put me in a bad mood for the rest of the day and made me want to cancel my subscription. I only have three things from this box that I’ll (possibly) only be able to use later on in the future. The other two are duds. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever had such a bad box with Birchbox or Ipsy before.

I hope I’ll be back to normal posts and the Beauties on Fire series! I’ve got a bunch of things already written or have the pictures for, so expect more content soon!

-xo, Andi

Instagram
Bloglovin’

Standard

One thought on “September 2016 Birchbox

  1. Pingback: October Birchbox | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

