beauty, subscriptions

August Birchbox

Hi everyone! It’s time for this month’s Birchbox!

The theme: Hair’s to You. Again, it’s all about a specific feature/kind of product. I personally am not that adventurous with my hair and prefer not getting any hair products in my box. So not excited about Birchbox giving two different hair products in each box.

Note: On the Birchbox website, it says this month’s theme is Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop, and doesn’t mention hair at all in the description.

The box: I hate the top. It’s a lot of colors and patterns and is just busy. Birchbox seems to have these kind of boxes a lot, and while half the boxes look really cute or cool, the others look like they were designed by five-year-olds. I liked the bottom, which is only a set of black and teal stripes.

The products: Beauty Protector Protect & Oil
Coola Mineral SPF 30 Daydream Makeup Primer
Manna Kadar eyeshadow in Fantasy (from the Day Dream palette)
Marcelle Hydra-C 24H Energizing Hydrating Gel
R+Co Oblivion Clarifying Shampoo (with Conditioner packet)

The Beauty Protector hair oil: I wish the card gave more information about what kinds of oils are in here. The description doesn’t say and just states all of the normal benefits of hair oil. The top of this is pretty wide open, so spills are possible and getting the right amount out is difficult (as in, I accidentally poured out three times as much oil as I normally use). The glass bottle is a nice touch, but I’d rather have serviceable packaging before worrying about making it fancy.

The Coola primer: I’m not 100% sure how a mineral primer works. All of the mineral makeup products I’ve used and heard of are powders except this. But I did really like this primer – it seemed to be a bit hydrating, silky like a silicone primer, easy to blend into the skin, and sat nicely under my makeup. Plus, SPF 30 never hurts. But there was a surprisingly little amount of product in the tube – it was like half air.

The Manna Kadar eyeshadow: This is actually really pretty. It’s a pearlized finish and while it’s a pinky taupe sort of color, different lighting can bring out different undertones. The shadow is nicely pigmented and blends easily. This can definitely be used as a highlight, as well.100_4053

The Marcelle moisturizer: I’m not crazy over this. The first day I used it, it was super hot and humid, and gel moisturizers don’t seem to sink into my skin right away in that kind of weather. My face was also a bit sensitive that day, and this didn’t help much (not sure if it was the Vitamin C, which can further irritate the skin, or the cucumber, which I didn’t realize was in there before applying, since that usually makes my skin sensitive). On another day where the weather and my skin were cooperating, this still just didn’t impress me.

The R+Co shampoo and conditioner: The shampoo was nice – it cleaned my hair nicely, lathered well despite being sulfate-free, and had a nice scent. Personally, though, I find that I don’t really need a clarifying shampoo and would rather a frizz-fighting or hydrating one. I’ve never used a gel conditioner before, and it was completely clear. Looked really weird. And, as usual, this conditioner packet did not come with enough product for me.

The verdict: A decent box. At first I thought these products were all pretty good, aside from the moisturizer, but other than the primer, everything “is good, but…”.

Again, though, some of Birchbox’s last few months have had some annoying products-as-themes, a lack of variety in sample choices, and an unfortunate habit of giving out sample choices when I didn’t want them. Birchbox’s customization was always what made it stand apart from other beauty boxes (along with their great point system they completely decimated two months ago), and it feels like it’s being downplayed lately.

-xo, Andi

Standard

3 thoughts on “August Birchbox

    • Thanks for the recommendation! I’m not sure if I’m ready to stop Birchbox just yet, or if this is just a low point, but I’ve been considering looking into new subscription boxes and will definitely check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: October Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

