empties

July Empties

Hello everyone! July just flew by, and I finally (excitingly) managed to get a small group of empties one month. Ever since I started doing monthly empties posts back in February or so, I’ve had tons of products used up each month. Getting rid of so much each month felt great, but also kind of overwhelming in how much I actually use and go through (especially money-wise). So let’s get on with the post!

Living Proof frizz conditioner was an extra sample in this month’s Birchbox. My hair is pretty thick and gets frizzy, but I found that I needed extra hydration on my damaged roots. Would I repurchase? No for the conditioner, but I do like the shampoo.

Simple Pleasures Berry Crunch body wash was a little gift at Christmas a few years ago. I’ve used acne body washes for what feels like forever now, and I started using normal body washes on areas where I don’t need the acne products (especially since I’m using a more expensive bar soap for the acne). This felt really thick and jelly-like, possibly from being so old. Would I repurchase? No.

Essence of Beauty Shea Indulgence Radiant Butter Scrub was a bit of an oddball for me – it’s thick and creamy, but has pumice bits to exfoliate. The shea butter helped soften and moisturize the skin, but it would wash off so quickly that I don’t think I was getting all of the benefits. Would I repurchase? Maybe.

Formula 10.0.6 So Totally Clean Deep Pore Cleanser – my favorite acne treatment for my body. I’ve gone through so many of these. I use this twice a day on body acne, as opposed to the acne soaps and washes in the shower. Would I repurchase? Yes.

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel is a very nice daily cleanser for more normal skin types. I use acne-fighting cleansers a lot, but if I’m going in with an acne mask or something, or if I’m just washing my face in the middle of the day, I’ll use a normal cleanser like this. I talked about this in this post about the Dermalogica kit it came with. Would I repurchase? No, because of the price.

Dermalogica Total Eye Care is a day eye cream. I didn’t find it was super amazing, and while I found that the peachy color was good for lightly blocking dark circles, the SPF 15 (which can be irritating for the sensitive undereye area) brought out some redness that seemed to counteract any color correcting effect. It rarely stung (and was pretty mild if it did). Again, talked about in the post above. Would I repurchase? Probably not.

Olay Active Botanicals Moisturizing Day Lotion was a complete impulse buy. Target had a 4 for 3 sale on their trial/travel sizes, and I picked this up because I wanted to find a good drugstore moisturizer. This one was really thin and liquidy in a bad way and while the packaging mentioned 24-hour hydration (unnecessary, especially for a day cream), it didn’t include anything like SPF to be useful for day. It  Would I repurchase? No.

Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 15 Fair was the completely wrong undertone for me. I knew that and bought it anyway last fall more for highlighting purposes, but I don’t like the coverage or the texture this fades down to after a few hours (and I stopped over-highlighting). Would I repurchase? No.

L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper in Medium/Dark is a great brow gel. Some people say this is a dupe for the Benefit Gimme Brow, although the wand is a bit bigger. Would I repurchase? Yes.

Absolute Nano Liner Ultra-Fine Precision Liquid Liner was something I got from an Ipsy bag. It’s not the best pigmentation, and I found that it’s too thin – I either get a super-thin or super-thick line, and there’s pretty much no in-between. Would I repurchase? No.

It Cosmetics Hello Lashes was a mascara that I’d heard pretty good things about. But I hated it. The front of the wand has bristles that taper off, except for the ball at the tip of the wand a la Benefit They’re Real, and it just seemed to get a ton of mascara wedged in there. So my mascara would look pretty nice, except for the huge clump of mascara I’d get in one spot. I’m picky about mascaras and normally take a while to start liking or loving a new mascara, but I never really cared for this over the few months that I used it. Would I repurchase? No.

Seche Clear Crystal Clear Base Coat seemed like a good investment. I heard good things about their top coat and wanted to try a base coat since my polish usually starts to chip in 24 hours. Instead of the polish chipping in 24 hours, it just started peeling off from the nail in 30 hours. Not much improvement, and so while I stuck with it for over a year, I recently found a better base coat. Would I repurchase? No.

So overall, this was a bit more of a negative empties post. That means it can only get better from here on out, though! And I have a bunch of other products that are slowly being used up for August!

-xo, Andi

Bloglovin’
Instagram

Standard

One thought on “July Empties

Leave a Reply

