beauty, reviews, skincare

Boots No. 7 Beautiful Skin Cleansing Oil

Hi everyone! I’m reviewing this Boots No. 7 Beautiful Skin Cleansing Oil that I’ve been using for a few weeks now. I love cleansing oils for removing makeup, but haven’t found one that I like from the drugstore yet. And this is my first No. 7 purchase, as well! Want to hear what I think?

The product: If you don’t know what a cleansing oil is, it’s pretty simple – instead of traditional water-based cleansers, it uses oil to pull out and remove dirt, sebum, and makeup that doesn’t mix well with water. It’s often used in Korean skincare routines as part of the double cleansing method. I personally use this as a makeup remover before a traditional cleanser.

The price: This costs around $12.00 for 5 fl oz. I picked mine up at Target, but a quick internet search seems to show that this is also available at Ulta and Walgreens in the US.

The packaging: I liked how simple the packaging was, even though the font color can be a bit hard to pick up on, especially when taking photos. But after using it, I wasn’t crazy over the pump. It’s really easy for product to dribble down the side, rather than end up in your hand, and so I’d have to pick it up and hold it at an angle to squirt it out. Not too much of an angle, though, because I’ve already had a little bit leak. The pump also doesn’t seem to release a lot of product, and so to get the same amount of product as I normally would, I need about twice as many pumps (usually 5 instead of 2-3).

The claims: Normal/dry skin. One simple step to perfectly clean, supple skin. Hypoallergenic and “enriched with Vitamin E and rosehip oil to help protect, hydrate, and lock moisture into the skin.”

The ingredients: Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Isononyl Isononanoate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Isohexadecane, Rosa Moschata Seed Oil, Parfum (Fragrance), Tocopheryl Acetate, Isopropyl Myristate, Ascorbyl Palmitate.

Mineral oil is the first ingredient/main oil. Some people care about not using mineral oil because of the process to make it and stuff. I’m not one of them, but I’m not crazy over the feeling of any of the mineral oil-based cleansers that I’ve tried. They feel a bit gloopier and less watery, and are just a bit harder to work with. The ones that I’ve tried with mineral oil are all from the drugstore, so it may also be something dealing with that?

The use: I’ve already said that it feels like I need more pumps to get this to work and that it feels thicker. Does it mean that the product just doesn’t work as well? Possibly. It’s a bit harder to mix with water before rinsing off, which could leave the slight film on my face that I’ve noticed. There is a fairly light scent that is pretty neutral, so the only reason I think anyone would care about it is from possibly being sensitive to the fragrance.

The effects: I’ve noticed that lately my skin has been feeling a little drier recently, which is probably from this (I’m also testing a new day cream). I first thought that a new bout of acne may have been caused by this, but it’s since died back down.

The verdict: Not too good. I’d give this about a 2/5. I’ll finish off the bottle because I don’t like wasting product and it still works, even if it’s not enjoyable, but won’t repurchase. In fact, I’d already bought two other oil cleansers and am so tempted to forget about this!

-xo, Andi

Instagram
Bloglovin

Standard

2 thoughts on “Boots No. 7 Beautiful Skin Cleansing Oil

  1. Pingback: October Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

