beauty, makeup

Beauties on Fire Collab Intro Post

Hey everyone! There’s a great big new collab coming between a great group of bloggers! Interested in learning more about us and my blog in general? Keep reading!

This collab is called Beauties on Fire. We’re a group of around 25 beauty and fashion bloggers from all over the world, and are going to have a post based on a theme every Thursday. (If you want to join, though, you’re more than welcome! Just contact one of us!) We’ll create a link-up so you can read everyone else’s blog, and even if you don’t take part in the collab yourself, you can always vote on each week’s theme via Twitter. This all is being organized by the lovely Elisabeth over at Everything & Nothin’.

1.) Tell us a little about your blog and why you decided to start blogging:

I’m a beauty blogger focusing mostly on makeup, skincare, and sometimes nails. I write reviews and post some looks and tutorials, as well as hauls and empties posts. I started my blog after having too much time on my hands and discovering the world of beauty blogging/vlogging. It was a very spur-of-the-moment decision.

2.) How long have you been blogging?

A little over a year – my blogiversary was June 25 or 26.

3.) Do you consider yourself a fashion blogger, beauty blogger, or both?

I’m a beauty blogger. Fashion just doesn’t really interest me – I’m into a weird alternative style with a lot of guys’ clothes and can count all of the clothes I’ve bought in the past year with my fingers.

4.) List 3 things you love to do besides blogging

I love music – love listening to it and I’ve played the piano for years and am teaching myself guitar and flute. I like listening to rock first and foremost (give me something bluesy, grungy, or metal and I’m happy), but will listen to a lot.

I’m a really big fiction reader and writer (although since blogging has become my main writing endeavor I’ve toned down on writing short stories). I’ve always loved more of a fantasy element, so I’ve always loved things like vampires and fairies and witches.

I also would have to say that I love architecture – I studied it in college, am currently looking for a job in the field, and have always found it interesting. When I was little, I’d draw out floor plans and make roads from Popsicle sticks for toy cars to drive on.

5.) What style of makeup do you enjoy the most? Also, what is one beauty product you can’t live without and why.

I like kind of in-your-face/edgy makeup looks (I blame show makeup taught to me at a young age by a six-foot-something man). I do follow a lot of makeup trends. Some of these below are kind of tame (the top left was meant to be a simple, glam look.

For my favorite product, I’d go with an eyeliner pen – super simple to use, and it’s dark and perfect for any sort of upper-liner look. I’d used the Revlon one for years, and while it’s a very solid one, I’ve more recently tried several others and can’t really say that I have a favorite.

That’s it for this introductory post! Be sure to check out everyone else’s posts – which you can find via Elisabeth’s post here. And don’t forget to keep an eye on the #beautiesonfire hashtag on Twitter and Instagram!

-xo, Andi

Come check out my Bloglovin‘ and Instagram!

 

Standard

12 thoughts on “Beauties on Fire Collab Intro Post

  1. First, I want to say a HUGE THANK YOU for creating our totally awesome logo!! Seriously, it is the best logo I have ever seen. You are beyond talented girl!! I am just so blessed to have you as a part of this collab!! I love that you have been blogging about as long as me! It has been awesome watching your blog grow and develop. Love it!! I am totally not a fashion blogger either! I need so much help in that department. I am looking forward to the fashion bloggers guides with this collab!! I could use some pointers haha! Not only are you talented with drawing…but you are musically talented too!! AAA so jealous! That is so awesome that you are learning to play so many instruments. I love edgy looks too girl!! Your looks are killer!!! I love the one with the blue shadow!! I love eyeliner too!! It’s amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome job on the logo! As a designer I know it’s hard getting something that can represent a group of people coherently and this really does that. I’ve been passionately into fiction and especially supernatural fiction as well. There’s just so much magic in a book that encompasses things that aren’t even of our universe. Can’t wait to read more from you, and belated congrats on the blogiversary!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Damn, from our interests I think we may be twins.. Definitely appreciate the music taste and the fact you’re learning guitar and the reading and writing is probably my biggest passion going! How’s it going with the guitar? I adore the logo you created for us, you have some serious talent and creativity going on, Andi! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Not sure how I missed your blog from the previous collab posts, but I just followed you! And from peeking around your blog, it does look like we’ve got lots of similar tastes and talents! Eh, the guitar is going slower than I’d like – I first got it two years ago and I’ve had long stretches where I’d be too busy to play much (even a semester where I couldn’t bring it with me at all). I really love it and it’s taught me a lot, though.

      Like

      • Thank you! 🙂 Ha ha it’s great, I always get so excited with my little self when I find that I have things in common with a fellow blogger! Do you play acoustic or electric? I have a guitar too and have also had mine for years now! It mostly just sits in my living room looking pretty, though. I taught myself one song but I’m not sure I’d even remember how to play it now! 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mine’s electric, though I usually play it without an amp. My biggest problem was always just that my fingers would get out of practice and so I wouldn’t have any callouses and twisting my fingers to reach some chords would hurt.

        Like

      • I totally feel you there! I’d just about started to get some then I stopped playing for absolutely ages and lost them completely. I hate the feeling of callouses though, I keep getting one on the palm of my hand from working so I start nail filing it ha ha!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

