beauty, empties, hair, makeup, skincare

May Empties and Throwaways

Hey guys!
I’m going through my empties this month. I’ve somehow only gone through very few products this month, as opposed to the past few months where I’ve had a ton of empties. I moved out from college a few days before the end of the semester and so maybe between packing and ending the month early I was using less.

The Body Shop’s Camomile Cleansing Oil was okay. It didn’t have mineral oil, but it wasn’t anything spectacular. If you’re on a budget, it’s still a good option compared to the limited choices at the drugstore because it’s a big bottle. Would I repurchase? Probably not.

I finished off this big thing of Equate makeup remover wipes. I’ve never found wipes that I like a lot because most of them are a bit rough and just don’t seem to get all of my makeup off, even face makeup. They can also leave a residue. Would I repurchase? Yes, mainly because I’d rather spend less money on wipes.

I’m throwing out this Neutrogena Deep Clean Long Lasting Shine Control Cleanser/Mask. When I bought it, my foundation made some areas of my skin oily but since I’ve stopped using that I just haven’t needed an oil-reducing cleanser or mask.

Again, I’m throwing out the Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash. It didn’t do much for me and I’d rather get rid of something I’m not getting much use from.
I’ve finished off the RE:P Bio Fresh Mask with Real Calming Herb. It’s a very relaxing mask, but it claims a good amount of benefits but not spectacular results on most of them. They include acne-fighting, brightening, exfoliating, and I think hydrating. It’s a good all-around mask. Would I repurchase? Maybe.

The Dermalogica Multi-Active Toner wasn’t my favorite, but I think it’s partly from the spray nozzle. For a quick pick-me-up throughout the day it’s fine, but I’d rather apply toner after cleansing with a cotton round, and the packaging made it a bit unwieldy to use it that way. Would I repurchase? No.

I liked this little baby sample of the Waterest First Essence by Goodal. It really did improve my skin’s hydration levels. Would I repurchase? Yes, but I probably want to try a few other brands first.

I honestly don’t remember much about this Dermalogica Skin Smoothing Cream. Blogger fail, I know. But I think it smelled vaguely like a cross between two other Dermalogica moisturizers. Would I repurchase? No, not unless I was able to try it again.
On the other hand, this Lancome Renergie Lift Multi-Action Light Cream was so nice! It smelled like the beauty section of Macy’s, just really high-end and with some fragrance. It felt super luxurious, sank into my skin easily, and would probably be my favorite moisturizer, except for the price. Full size is $97.00. Would I repurchase? In a few years when I’m not a broke college kid.

Somebody recommended Carmex lip balm to me last summer. It was very hydrating, and this tube was my favorite balm of choice at night (from what I had). It did make my lips tingle a bit. It’s a bit soft, and it applies kind of thick because of that. It tastes really gross, and sometimes it would kind of just slide into my mouth a bit. Would I repurchase? I’ll go with ChapStick over Carmex.

The Revlon Photoready Primer is impossible to open up to get the rest of it out. It improved wear time a bit, but I get better results with CV creams. Would I repurchase? No.
Clinique Chubby In The Nude Foundation Stick in ‘Normous Neutral was just a tad bit dark for me, as well as too cool-toned. I’d use this for a slight contour, mainly to finish this off, but it wasn’t really dark enough for a good contour. Would I repurchase? No.

I used to always like the Revlon ColorStay retractable eye liner for some reason, despite being not very pigmented. I just wanted to finish this off before using some better pencils. Would I repurchase? No.

The Anastasia Brow Pencil in Medium Brown was from a Birchbox last fall. It was a mini, so is missing the spoolie on the end. This was a great color match, and a really waxy formula so it’s harder to overdo. Would I repurchase? Yes.

I got this Estee Lauder Pure Color Lipstick in Pink Parfait a while ago as a freebie. The gold packaging is what really stands out with this one – I’ve gotten another of this with more of their typical packaging. It’s a great spring/summer color since it is a bright pink shimmer. The Estee formula may also be my favorite formula, as it’s creamy and pigmented. Would I repurchase? Probably not – this shade is used as a free gift a lot. But I’ll probably get more shades!

I got a 40- count bag of White Cloud Cotton Rounds. These were nice enough, and got the job done, but I’ve had better. I would have bought a bigger bag if I could, but Walmart was out of them. Would I repurchase? I always do.

I got this pack of Bic Soleil razors, which are nice. They have three blades and give a good shave. Would I repurchase? Probably. I’m also considering the Dollar Shave Club.

Degree Motion Sense Deodorant in Berry Cool was okay. Sometimes I’d out it on and it would feel like I didn’t put anything on, probably because it’s a bit of a wetter formula that takes more time to dry down. Would I repurchase? No.

This Whish Body Butter in Lavender was nice- moisturizing on my hands and body without being greasy. It settled into my skin quickly, and I liked the lavender scent, which I’m picky about because it can smell grandmotherly. Would I repurchase? Yes.

Templespa La La Lagoon body wash smells divine! I’ve already talked about this in another empties post. Would I repurchase? Maybe.

Templespa In Good Condition Conditioner was another sample. I liked it, but it wasn’t amazing. It was good for my dry ends, and the bottle included a couple uses. Would I repurchase? No. I can get the same or better quality for the price.

Everyone’s at least heard of Herbal Essences Hello Hydration Conditioner, if not tried it. For my dry, bleached tips, this was a great option. I liked the scent, especially that it wasn’t too strong, because I think that super strong conditioner scent is just overkill. Would I rephrase? Yeah.

Philosophy Compassionate perfume sample was lighter than many of the perfume scents than I’m used to, but it still was a great watery vanilla perfect for simple day use – running around or going to class. Would I repurchase? No, it’s just a bit too light for my tastes.

I got this black plum candle for super cheap in Ross. I love black plum scents, so this was a great find. I honestly have no idea what brand this was, though. Would I repurchase? Yes.

It felt like I had fewer empties this month… but this is still a good amount. Have you used any of these products, or want to try any?

-xo, Andi

Come follow me on Instagram: @everimpractical

Standard

Leave a Reply

