beauty, hair, makeup, skincare, subscriptions

May Birchbox

Hey guys! It’s once again time to review my Birchbox!

This month, one of my samples wasn’t in the box, and then it took ten days to ship.

The theme: Out of Doors. It’s been a cold May, and every time it seems like it’s getting warmer, it lasts for like three days. So I haven’t been outside just quite yet. Also, it keeps on reminding me of a store being sold out of doors, not actually outside.

The box: Really pretty and bright!

The goodies:
Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate
Supergoop Everyday SPF 50 with Cellular Response Technology (which is missing)
W3ll People Bio Correct Multi-Action Concealer in Light
Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner
amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

The Kiehl’s oil: This was okay but I’m just not a big fan of face oils. It smelled like a citrus cleaner, but in a good way. It didn’t clog pores and made my skin look a bit more radiant, but I always seem to end up with this kind of filmy residue on my face after using an oil. I did like that it included a dropper, though.

The Supergoop sunscreen: It’s a nice sunscreen. It settles into the skin easily and smells really nice, kind of a lemon verbena scent. My skin feels softer after using this, but it does leave a slight residue on the skin. The best part: This can be used on the face and body! I usually throw on at least a BB or CC cream and/or use SPF in my moisturizer, so I don’t need this for my face all that much. Also, this was late and after receiving it, I realized that I’d already packed the rest of the box and brought it home!100_3743.JPG

The W3ll People concealer: I was happily surprised to find that this was in my shade! The gray packaging always makes me think, “oh, it’s going to be really cool-toned and not match my undertone at all” even though it’s not true. Other than that packaging flaw, it’s really nice.

The Eyeko eyeliner: I really like this kind of liquid pen, and as a beauty blogger who is always trying out new things, I also like the mini size.

The amika dry shampoo: Back in the fall, I received this in a Birchbox from a second subscription. I’m trying to finish off a different bottle of dry shampoo and haven’t used this one in a while, so I’ll just give my thoughts from that post (which you can read here):

The packaging is distinctive, though I’m still trying to decide if I like it or not. It seemed to work decently, but I did notice that it started looking a little grayish in some spots before I worked it all in with my fingers.

My thoughts could have definitely changed since then, though, because I have used this from time to time. Also, no idea what I was referring to with working the product in with my fingers.

The verdict: It was just okay. Even though I liked some of these products, I have a lot of others to get through before I’ll use these all.

-xo, Andi

Standard

Leave a Reply

