beauty, hair, makeup, skincare, subscriptions

April Birchbox

Hey everyone! It’s time for this month’s Birchbox! Has anyone else noticed their Birchbox coming later than usual, too? This is the second month in a row where it’s a couple days late, and shipping something from New Jersey to New York State shouldn’t take long. Anyway…

This month’s theme: Make it Bloom. I really need this right now – it snowed on three different days last week, and snowed more in one day than it had the rest of the winter combined. I want it to feel like spring, and it’s only started to in the past few days.

The box: It’s really pretty. Birchbox teamed up with Rifle Paper Co, which apparently loves florals. The one chosen for the box is a bit muted, with the cream background and dark greens. It’s got a bit of a vintage feel to it, like it’s just a step away from being a Victorian-inspired wallpaper. That said, I’d rather a bit more light pastels or brights to tie in with the theme.

The goodies:

20% off coupon for Rifle Paper Co.

Acure Pore Minimizing Facial Scrub

Au Naturale Mini Face Palette in Lively

Beaver Repair Rescue Shampoo and Conditioner

Penhaligon’s Levantium perfume

I’m not sure if I’ll use the coupon. I’m usually a bit of a cheapskate when it comes to cards and notebooks and things. It’s good until the end of the year, so I may use it yet.

Acure always has fun directions on their packages, and this is no exception: “Dance often, the sillier, the better.” as the last sentence. It’s just something fun and lighthearted and completely unrelated to the product to put a smile on your face. Anyway, this is a nice exfoliant. Because of the clay in it, it does feel a bit like a clay mask in your hands, but you can feel the grit once it’s on your face. There are enough beads to feel like everything is getting covered, but they’re not too harsh or too much. Plus my skin felt so soft after this!

I’ve seen some people complain about getting product out from this Au Naturals mini set. I don’t see why brushes won’t work. These are all cream products, so even if you have to use your finger or a very thin, small brush to get the blush out, you can blend it out on your cheek. The pans are shallow as well as small, and color can end up on the palette. I like the blush shade the best, and find that the eyeshadow is either unpigmented or a bit close to my skin tone (you can barely see it on the hand swatch). It’s best for a highlight. The lipstick is a fuchsia/berry color that I don’t wear often because it can clash with my red glasses.

100_3632

I’m a bit annoyed that Birchbox included the shampoo and conditioner as two different products. The three other months that I got samples, one or both were an extra packet. I already gave the shampoo to my roommate, since it has sulfates in it. The conditioner was really thick and pretty nice. Also, both of these smell kind of like the conditioner packets/tubes you get with drugstore hair color.

The Penhaligon’s perfume is amazing! Head notes: Bergamot, Davana, Saffron, Absinthe. Heart notes: Rose, Jasmine, Violet, Clove, Cardamom, Ylang Ylang, Peach. Base Notes: Amber, Myrrh, Guaiacwood, Sandalwood, Cedarwood, Oud. It’s a woodsy/floral that can start out smelling just this side of grandmotherly, but then warms up to something a bit more exotic, and then sticks around forever (I could smell hints of this two days after applying). It’s a bit more of a mature scent, so maybe a little out of place around my college campus, but special occasions would be great. I can’t stop sniffing my wrists, and know my least favorite part of this is the price ($170 for 100 mL/3.4 fl oz).

Overall, it’s a complete mix of the good, bad, and so-so.

Standard

Leave a Reply

