beauty, brushes, makeup, skincare, subscriptions

A Second January Ipsy Bag?!

Hey guys! So some of you might remember my late December Ipsy Glam Bag fiasco and then me cancelling my Ipsy subscription in January? When I talked to the customer service woman about my missing glam bag, she said that my January bag could be sent out later in the month so I wouldn’t get them within two days of each other. I got one at the regular time, but then on January 30, I got an email from Ipsy with tracking info! I was confused, and since it was sent to my house instead of my school address, I had to wait until spring break to find out what it was….

A second Ipsy bag! That seems to have been sent for free.

First up, this bag was the “eye” theme and had such a cute bag! I loved both of these. You’ve probably seen these a million times about a month or two ago, so I’m not going to talk about them any more.

Products: The Balm Mr. Write Now in Jac B. Bronze
Hikari Cream Pigment in Mink
Skone Smudger Brush
Mitchell and Peach English Leaf Body Cream
Hanalei Sugar Lip Scrub

*Other than the liner, I got completely different products than my first bag, and still received a different color liner than before.

I gave the liner to my sister before I even took a picture. I tried the other color, Scott B. Bordeaux, and it made my eyes red and sensitive. Usually it’s because of the brand’s formula, rather than pigments, so I just gave this away without trying. I liked both colors, even though I can’t wear them.

The pigment is so pretty! I love shimmery shades, and this one is great! I feel like this would be a perfect lid color to pair with my favorite kinds of dark purple/brown/taupe shades. It’s described as a “bright bronze with shimmer” on Hikari’s website, but with just one layer it’s very light, more of a pale rose gold/champagne color. Even built up, it’s not super “bright.” I also think it’s a bit more of a cream-to-powder texture, and didn’t seem to crease after about 14 hours when I took off my makeup (always a plus).

100_3407

I always love getting brushes, especially eye brushes. I feel like I don’t know anything about eye brushes, but I do like using this kind of brush on my lower waterline and sometimes inner corner. I’ve only used it once, but it seems like a nice brush.

The lotion smells so nice! I’ve never really considered myself a person who likes leafy/herbal scents, but this could change that! It includes coriander, basil, peppermint, lavender, and honey, and it does smell similar to the countryside in the summer. But, the plastic at the top of the tube wasn’t fully sealed, so there is a big hole where product could leak out. While there doesn’t seem to have been any spillage in the bag/on other products, it does seem like the tube is only half-full and missing a lot of product.

I’m not a big fan of any lip products in pots – I’d rather something in a stick-like formula/package so I don’t have to get my hands messy. It has a nice lemon scent, and has all sorts of amazing ingredients. But I thought the texture was a bit weird – it was pretty firm, which I expected, but then would turn really soft and almost mushy right away and was just weird.

So did I like the bag? Yes. Aside from the dud of an eyeliner, everything else was good (even if these products weren’t what I was supposed to receive this month).

Did I like this enough to want to subscribe? No. I’ve had all sorts of minor problems with Ipsy, and even a great bag isn’t worth that. The fact that they sent me two bags in one month is suspect. And there are all sorts of other boxes I’d like to try first.

-xo, Andi

Standard

2 thoughts on “A Second January Ipsy Bag?!

Leave a Reply

