beauty

February Empties

Hey guys! It hasn’t even been a month yet since my last post, but I managed to finish off/decide to throw out a bunch of products. So why not make this series into a monthly one?

First up for skincare is my Olay Active Hydrating Beauty Fluid. This was the first moisturizer I ever used and pretty much the only one I used up until this winter. I really like it as it works pretty well for my skin (I have combination skin ranging from oily to dry) and is inexpensive. I’ve recently decided to start trying other moisturizers just to see what else is out there, but I won’t be surprised to return to this again.

I didn’t finish up the Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator, but it was close. I used this for months and always felt like it could end up a little rough on my face, and that I was just using too much product despite only having a pea-sized amount. It worked better than most of my other scrubs, but after a large skincare overhaul and learning more about my skin, I realized that I’d rather just use something else.

The Dermalogica Overnight Clearing Gel is a really good acne product – I’d use it every night on troublesome areas and could see a difference in the morning. I got four of these packets at Ulta, and this was the last one. Each lasted a couple days. This is currently on my wishlist.

I also finished up the Body Shop Tea Tree Oil. It worked okay on my skin, but nothing really spectacular.

I got through a Beauty Protector Protect and Detangle sample that I received from Birchbox. It wasn’t quite my favorite – I like more of a leave-in conditioner, but wanted to try to use up a couple bottles and things. The spray could come out as more of a single stream instead of a mist, so it would collect in some places and not others.

For body, I ended up finishing off this Templespa La La Lagoon shower gel. I really liked the scent, but I usually use an acne-fighting body wash. How’d I manage to finish this off, you ask? I was using the Body Shop Tea Tree Body Wash and it just didn’t seem to last on my loofah, despite using more product. So when I ran out on my legs, I’d use this instead.

I also finished off this Juara Coconut Illipe Hand and Nail Balm. Its scent is light, which I like with hand creams. I’m not crazy about coconut scents, but because this was light I didn’t mind as much. It was a good hand cream but I won’t repurchase.

The Wet n Wild Wild Shine nail polish in Black Creme is one of my favorite black polishes. I decided to stop using this because of the brush instead of drying polish. The ends of the brush hairs are all uneven now, and I’m not really sure why, but I already had another of these so I decided that it’s easier to chuck this instead of struggle with the brush.

I’ve pretty much finished the Too Cool For School Dinoplatz Escalator Mascara and Revlon Color Stay Liquid Eye Pen, both in black. These products are the kind that you can’t really tell if it is finished or not, but they did both begin to dry out. The Revlon pen is a HG product, since it’s so easy to use, long-lasting, and dark, plus it’s drugstore! I liked trying the mascara. The changing wand is great to use, since it’s like two mascara wands in one, but I think I’d like this better if it wasn’t waterproof. It was just a little dry for my liking. I’ll repurchase the liner at some point when I finish off some of what I have open, but probably not the mascara – I have a ton to get through right now, and I’m not big on buying full-sized high-end mascaras.

I’m throwing this They’re Real Push-Up Liner. It was always hard to use, especially if I wanted a thicker line or a wing. One side usually looked half-decent when I used this, but then the other would have a really smudgy edge and just not look pigmented enough.

I finally decided to throw this Elizabeth Mott Queen of the Fill brow gel because it’s not my shade and is a gloopy, hard-to-use mess. ‘Nuff said.

I’ve been trying to go through my perfume samples, and these two scents by Bath and Body Works were the first to be finished. I liked Blackberry Amber a bit more. The Cherry Blossom one reminded me of their cherry blossom body spray that I had way back in middle and high school, which is fine, but this┬ánever really felt quite like a perfume to me.

I also wasn’t super crazy by this Lucky brand Darling perfume. It was an okay scent, but just didn’t seem strong enough or something.

And that’s it for February! I’ve surprisingly gotten rid of a lot of stuff this past month, and haven’t bought anything, so it’s a win for me!

-xo, Andi

Standard

6 thoughts on “February Empties

Leave a Reply

