beauty, skincare

The Body Shop Tea Tree line

Hey guys! I know I’ve been slacking a bit lately with posting , but I’ve been busy with schoolwork and looking for jobs and stuff. But I’m going to tell you all about my experiences with the Body Shop’s tea tree line, which is targeted for blemished skin.

I bought all of these products from TBS in October, when they were having a buy-3-get-3-free deal. I got:

Tea Tree Oil Skin Clearing Facial Wash ($14.00)

Tea Tree Oil Skin Clearing Facial Toner (14.00)

Tea Tree Oil Face Mask ($17.00)

Tea Tree Oil ($10.00)

Tea Tree Body Wash (15.00)

I suffer from acne, including on my body. I’m not sure of my skin type, but believe it’s combination with an oily chin and dry patches generally on/around my nose and around my eyes and brows.

I first bought the oil over the summer and decided to add it into my skincare routine, mostly because I thought it could work like a spot treatment, or at least stop any bacteria from spreading around my face and causing more acne. It seemed to work okay, but not spectacular and I finished off both bottles but am not repurchasing.

The body wash was my favorite of all of these to try. Anyone who uses acne body washes knows that there aren’t a lot out there, and so getting another one to try is always exciting. This was my first tea tree body wash (I’ve since tried others) and I honestly didn’t see much result. This body wash wasn’t foaming enough – I had to use about twice as much product to wash than most other body washes, including other tea tree washes. The scent was also not as pleasant as I’d like for a body wash – most of this line has a weird strongly astringent smell. I’ve used this for probably between six and eight weeks, and just gave up on it.

The toner was a regret buy from the start. It’s made with alcohol, and when I found that out I was so disappointed. I honestly didn’t even think about checking for it, because so few toners have alcohol these days. It also separates with a thick yellowish  layer at the bottom, which was a bit off-putting to me when I’ve never seen that before. My plan is to use it on my body acne in conjunction with a body wash to help clear my skin (I currently use the Formula 10.0.6 So Totally Clean cleanser similarly, and that works).

The facial wash was again just okay, nothing spectacular and not very good results. I’ve stopped using it for the BareMinerals BlemishRemedy Acne Gelee Cleanser. This might be better for a preventative face wash, but not for a clearing one. I probably only used this for about two or three weeks, and I knew it wasn’t enough.

Finally, the mask. It’s my favorite of these products, and while I’ve only used it a couple times, it does seem to be better for my acne. It also gives all the benefits of normal clay masks with the acne-fighting properties.

My thoughts: this line was just a miss for me. I’ve also heard that it doesn’t work well for some others. I’ve also learned a lot about skincare since buying these and know that you shouldn’t use only acne-fighting products, as it’s probably overkill on your skin. I generally limit myself to two acne products every morning and night.

-xo, Andi

Standard

8 thoughts on “The Body Shop Tea Tree line

Leave a Reply

