subscriptions, Uncategorized

February Birchbox

Hey guys! I’m back with this month’s Birchbox! Keep reading to find out what I got this month!

So first off is the theme this month: What’s the Occasion? It pretty much means Valentine’s Day, and I could honestly care less about Valentine’s Day. The idea that you can just do one or two things to go the extra mile if you have a reason (even if the reason is Because I wanted to) is great, but it didn’t really come across that way.

The box design seemed a bit boring. It reminded me of last month’s curated box because of the similar simple style of outlines of a bunch of objects, but this one fell flat and I wasn’t crazy about the color scheme. It didn’t really fit the theme, either.

The goodies: Whish Three Whishes Body Butter in Lavender
Hey Honey Take It Off Exfoliating Honey Peel-Off Mask
Arrow Revive Cooling Cheek Tint in Pink Punch
Pop Beauty Matte Velvet Lipstix in Cozy Crimson
Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk

Whish body butter: It’s hydrating without being too greasy, and overall just a nice formula. I liked the scent, too, which was a bit on the lighter side. It smelled a bit more fresh than some lavender scents, which I liked in general. To me, lavender is just one of those scents that can end up being a bit grandmotherly at times, and I prefer lighter scents for lotions.

Hey Honey mask: I’ve never tried a peel-off mask before. It smelled nice because of the honey, and did a nice job exfoliating. But it was hard to peel off in places, and I felt like I could have missed a few spots that had torn apart from the rest of the mask (I went over using micellar water to be sure). Usually, a mask is used after cleansing, but this said to use some moisturizer beforehand. Is this supposed to be used after moisturizing (aka the last step in most skincare routines) or are you supposed to put on moisturizer partway through the routine (moisturizer works better after toners, etc. and can create a barrier on the skin)? I’ve also heard that peel-off masks can be damaging to your skin. I’m glad I got to try this kind of product, at least.

Arrow cheek tint: I was unimpressed with this. It’s kind of like a cream blush, but had all the problems of a tint, namely, hard to blend without 90% of the color disappearing or ending up on your fingertips. I prefer slightly warmer-toned blushes over this blue-based pink, and for the lack of pigmentation I’m not going to try bothering and struggling with this. I’d rather use a normal blush that works. I also didn’t notice any cooling effect.

100_3381

Pop Beauty lipstick: This is a suprisingly good lipstick. The color seems like a dark pinkish red to me, very pretty and wearable. Despite being matte, it’s not drying. It’s also very well-pigmented. I’m not crazy about the packaging, and the lipstick lid is about twice the height it needs to be so it’s bulky.

Klorane dry shampoo: It seemed to work fine when I used it, but I didn’t like the scent at all. I usually do a “test spray” into the air when I first get these, just to see what the scent is like, and I didn’t smell much of anything. Then I used it on my hair and hated the scent. Also, I’m starting to get a bit tired of receiving dry shampoos (I think Birchbox has sent me three in the past six months).

So overall, not that great a box. The lipstick and body butter were the two goodies I liked, but neither were game-changing. I also don’t think too much of this falls under this month’s theme, either.

-xo, Andi

Standard

3 thoughts on “February Birchbox

    • Not really any of them yet… I try and use things once or twice for reviews. I’ll definitely use the body butter, but I have a couple others that I’m going to finish off first. I like the lipstick, too, but I don’t wear red lips all that often.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: October Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

