beauty, makeup, skincare, subscriptions

January Ipsy Glam Bag

Hey everyone! Hope you’re all doing well. It’s time for this month’s Ipsy Glam Bag!

The theme: All About Eyes. I LOVE eye makeup, so this month’s theme was great!

The bag: So cute! I liked the pop art kind of vibe going on with this, and the colors were spot-on!

The goodies:

The Balm Mr. Write Now Eye Liner in Scott B. Mauve
Ofra Eyebrow pencil in Universal
Pixi Mesmerizing Mineral Duo in Lavender Bloom
Beau Gachis Smudge brush
Skyn Glacial Cleansing Cloths

The eyeliner: I’m funnily not that big on this shade as a liner, probably because it seems more of a purple-based brown and I don’t use brown liners. I tried it, and while it was nice, especially with my green eyes, my eyes were too sensitive for it. They started turning red by the time I took my makeup off, but I’ve had worse.

The brow pencil: First, there’s a wide range of brow colors, and I’m not big on a universal shade. I can wear it, at least, and while it feels waxy, it goes on very easily and it may be possible to get thick lines and overdone brows.

The shadow duo: I opened up my Ipsy bag late in the afternoon and didn’t have the best lighting. When I swatched it at first, one of the shades looked almost light green, and I’m pretty certain it was the pink. It’s a gorgeous cool pink duochrome, and the other is a shimmery light/medium brown. Both are gorgeous, but I’m kind of lost as to how to wear them together. There’s not enough contrast for one to be a crease color and the other a lid color, and the finishes are so different that blending them together looks a bit odd. But these colors are so creamy that I’d like to try other Pixi shadows.

The brush: My other smudge brush is flat, and this is fully rounded, more like a stiff blending brush. It’s better off being used on, say, the outer corner of the lid. It might work well for contouring the nose, but I haven’t tried it.

The cleansing cloths: I’ve never been big on cloths/wipes because they’re one-time-use products and most makeup remover cloths seem like they don’t get all the makeup off but can dry or irritate the skin.

The verdict: Most of the products were in the “decently nice” range, I guess. Nothing spectacular, and the eyeliner was the only flop. I honestly wouldn’t have used it all that often if my eyes were less sensitive, so it’s not that big of a letdown. But I’ve cancelled my subscription. I’ve thought not just about how much I like the products I get, but also all of the little things that make up the service aspect of their business.

-xo Andi

Standard

2 thoughts on “January Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. Pingback: A Second January Ipsy Bag?! | everimpractical

Leave a Reply

