beauty, hauls, makeup, skincare

A Massive Haul

Hey all! So ever since I came home for winter break, my acne has gotten so much worse than it has been. I’m not sure if it’s a change in my diet, or extra pollutants in the air from my cats and the heating system (hot air rather than a radiator), or what. But I’ve been doing things differently lately.

I started trying to combat my acne with a harsh acne system. It’s the Target brand’s version of Proactiv (I’ve never tried Proactiv so can’t say if it is the same or not). But my skin hates it – my skin turns dry and super irritated and was so sensitive to my everyday products I’ve never before had a problem with. So I stopped that, switched back to my everyday skincare regimen, and decided to poke around Ulta because I just hit 1000 points on the last trip and won a coupon in their skincare event. I also managed to snag a four-hour goodie kit.

So I went in and ended up talking to one of the Dermalogica women, who recommended some of the treatments as well as products to go along with them. We went over my current routine and what to add and change, and she gave me free samples. I did get two treatments, but thankfully they were 30% off from Ulta’s skincare event.

I also got the K-Beauty box from Birchbox, and stopped into my local Korean supermarket to see if they had any K-Beauty things. There’s a large Korean population in my town, and the supermarket is pretty much the same size as a normal supermarket, and I figured that there may be a decent beauty section. Nope – about a third of an aisle, and most of it was hair stuff.

 

Onto the haul:

Skincare:

The Little Book of Skincare by Charlotte Cho. It’s an easy and fun read, and I really like how she pairs her real-life skincare story with more factual knowledge she learned from being an aesthetician. My one pet peeve was that she seemed to call every step/product the most important in the routine.

Dermalogica Normal/Oily Skin Kit. This kit comes with smaller sizes of the Special Cleansing Gel, Skin Prep Scrub, Multi-Active Toner, Active Moist, and Total Eye Care. The Dermalogica woman recommended this, aside from switching out the scrub for their Daily Microfoliant and, when I’m unable to get treatments, switching the cleanser with an acne-fighting one or adding an acne product like their Overnight Clearing Gel to my routine.

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel. I got a second travel size of this cleanser to help get a free gift (and I know I’ll use it).

BareMinerals Blemish Remedy Acne Treatment Gelee Cleanser. I’m not used to the gel consistency, but I otherwise do like it.

Laneige Power Essential Skin Toner – Normal/Dry. It smells so nice, but is kind of hard to get out of the bottle. I get a drop of toner at a time, and feel like I don’t get enough product out to really use enough. I’ve only used it once or twice.

Dermalogica Multi-Active Toner. I really like this toner, especially since it’s a moisturizing toner instead of an astringent one. This entire brand seems almost Korean with their products (they say to double-cleanse!)

Yes to Cucumbers Daily Calming Moisturizer. Every now and then my skin gets sensitive, and I figured I’d try this moisturizer to help out, especially since I was using all these harsh acne products that really irritated my skin.

29 First Crush Lip Scrub. Read my review here. I love scrubs in the lipstick tube form, and this was on clearance for $5.00. It looks like Target put everything from this brand on clearance, so this brand may stop being sold there.

Tonymoly sheet masks. Red Wine/Pore Care and Aloe/Moisturizing. Yes please to sheet masks!

Makeup:

BareMinerals Gorgeous Eyes Unlocked. Ten loose eyeshadows! I first wanted this ages ago, but never bought it and thought Ulta didn’t have this any more because it’s a holiday item. But I found it and had to snag it.

Real Techniques Setting Brush. I needed one of these in my life ages ago.

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creams in San Paolo and Monte Carlo. First, I’m about 99% certain that it’s Sao Paolo. It’s also a lot more of a true dark pink than what it looks in the tube (which looks a bit more muted). Monte Carlo is a gorgeous darker red.

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Bang. First, 5x points on UD. I would have picked up either Vice 4 or a Naked Concealer instead, but they were out. This is a super bright orange red. It’ll be great for spring and summer!

Estee Lauder Pure Color Five Shade Eye Palette in Enchanted Berries. This was a present from my mom, who got three of these at some sort of outlet (one each for me, my sister, and mom). I chose the purple/mauve palette, and honestly the shade I like the most is weirdly the tan shade… such a gorgeous metallic finish, even though I love purple shadows.

Other:

ON: The Body Tea Tree Acness Body Wash. I managed to pick this up at my Korean supermarket, since I do use acne body washes and wanted to see what the Korean one is like.

DKNY perfume sampler. Another thing from my mom (actually a late Christmas present she was going to give someone else). This includes four scents in .24 fl oz bottles – Be Delicious, Golden Delicious, City Woman, and Energizing. All these scents are nice.

Dermalogica Freebies:

Precleanse

Special Cleansing Gel

Meet Dermalogica kit- Special Cleansing Gel, Daily Microfoliant, Skin Smoothing Cream, Multivitamin Power Firm

Overnight Clearing Gel (x4)

Winter Skin Rescue Set – Skin Resurfacing Cleanser, Intensive Moisture Balance, and Overnight Repair Serum

Other freebies:

Estee Lauder Take It Away Total Makeup Remover. I got this from my sister since she doesn’t use it.

Clinique Liquid Facial Soap Mild. Again, from my sister. I could try telling her about skincare and that this cleanser is the kind she should use, but it’s a lost cause.

Philosophy Purity Cleanser. The vast majority of Philosophy products I’ve tried/heard about/been given are their 3-in-1 shampoo/body wash/bubble bath or whatever. My aunt is obsessed with them and always gives them out on holidays, but nobody else likes them because they don’t do any of those things well. I’ve heard good things about this on blogs and vlogs, but years of thinking that Philosophy is overpriced and overrated have always made me not want to try any of their stuff.

Mario Badescu Botanical Exfoliating Scrub.

Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel Sensitive.

Lancome Renergie Lift Multi-Action moisturizer.

StriVectin SD Advanced Intensive Concentrate for Wrinkles and Stretch Marks.

Clarins Super Restorative Total Eye Concentrate.

Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels. I loved these the last time I got them as a free sample.

Patchology FlashPatch Eye Gels.

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil x2.

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer.

Dermablend Setting Powder.

 

Standard

One thought on “A Massive Haul

Leave a Reply

