subscriptions

December 2015 Ipsy Glam Bag

Hey guys! Yes, I know this post is late… but my bag was lost in the mail! I had to wait until December 28 for Ipsy to send out a second bag (and you should be able to tell that with the holidays and the fact that it’s customer service, it took an extra week before the bag was mailed out. In fact, I got it only a couple days before getting my January bag.

The bag: Gorgeous! It’s really well-designed to look like some little patent leather clutch. The shape, the color, the stitching, it all comes together beautifully. My favorite bit is actually the zipper pull – in the shape of lips!

The goodies: Crown Brush C413 Brow Duo
Pacifica eyeshadow in Ethereal
Marc Anthony Deep Nourishing Conditioning Treatment
ModelCo Illusion Lip Liner (not sure of the shade – Illusion could be the name)
Elizabeth Mott Thank Me Later Eye Shadow Primer

100_3311

Swatches L-R: ModelCo lip liner, Pacifica eyeshadow, Elizabeth Mott eye primer

The brush: This is my second brush in a row in my Ipsy bag, and I love getting more “permanent” items like this! I like the spoolie, but don’t use brow powders so can’t speak about the angled side. The angled brush feels stiff and has very thick bristles, which kind of seems cheap.

The shadow: It looks like a shimmery tan/champagne shade, but when I put it on my eyes I was surprised by how pink it was on the eye. It’s a pretty shade, though it does need to be built up. I’ll probably use it mostly on my browbone and inner corner. Or I’ll repurpose it as a highlight.

The deep conditioner: It’s okay. I usually use my conditioner as a deep conditioner by leaving it in for a couple minutes before rinsing it out. I also didn’t read the back thoroughly and use it without normal conditioner beforehand. Even so, it didn’t really seem to do too much to my hair. I’m not crazy over coconut scents, too.

The lip liner: I first saw the bottom piece of plastic and thought this would be a bright pink liner because a lot of tips or caps or whatever match the liner’s color. Thankfully, nope! It’s a warm-toned nude that I will actually be able to use! The two times I wore it, one wasn’t that long and the other was under a long-wear lipstick so I can’t really say how long it lasts.

The eye primer: First, I’ll start out by saying I don’t really need another eye primer. I liked the formula – it slid on easily. The color was also pink-based, rather than the tan ones I’ve usually used. I didn’t find it super pigmented and didn’t really make much difference with my eyelid color (sometimes I can be a bit heavy-handed when applying eye primers, and things like Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion can stand out a little at times). It did make my eyeshadow last a good amount of time.

The customer service: I have to admit that I didn’t like Ipsy’s customer service. It was slow (other than the first response, it took 3-4 days for a reply). Yes, there were holidays, but I received one email at 8 AM on New Year’s Day. I don’t even know what to make of that.

Ipsy’s emails always seem slow, starting from day one. When I was put off the waitlist to start getting my Glam Bag, I was charged the $10.00 fee a day or two before they sent an email. There was also the month that my tracking code email was sent out a whole two hours before my bag was delivered to my mailbox. I don’t know if it’s something with their computer/email system, or if Ipsy is understaffed, or what, but it feels unprofessional and kind of like somebody’s kid sister playing pretend instead of a real business. Anyone else notice this?

I’ve gone onto Ipsy’s website, and it turns out that four of the five items I received I wasn’t even supposed to get – the ones listed for my December bag have different items. I was supposed to get the brush, which is one of the items I liked most. I would have preferred my original bag, and am kind of annoyed that my December page will only let me review the original items, meaning I can’t tell Ipsy what I think of these new ones and can’t earn points toward getting rewards.

-xo Andi

Standard

One thought on “December 2015 Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. Pingback: A Second January Ipsy Bag?! | everimpractical

Leave a Reply

