Uncategorized

What’s in my travel bag?

Hey everyone! I went home for winter break, and had to consolidate my makeup kit. My break is about a month long before classes start back up. Some of you might be jealous, but every year I find that it’s such an awkward amount of time to pack for. I always want options, but I don’t want to take too much stuff, especially if it turns out that I won’t use it. Plus, I needed both everyday and special occasion makeup.

So the question is, what did I bring with me?

100_3285Skincare:

Cleanser: The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Facial Wash and Formula 10.0.6 So Totally Clean Acne Cleanser.

Exfoliant: Vasanti Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (mini size from Birchbox – I also had a face scrub at home that I forgot I had).

Toner: Neutrogena Alcohol-Free Toner.

Spot Treatment: The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil.

Serum: Arganistry Argan Vitamin C Serum.

Moisturizer: Olay Active Hydrating Fluid.

Eye Cream: 100% Pure Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream, Origins GinZing eye cream (both day – I’m running out of the first one) and Clinique All About Eyes (night).

Masks: Yes To Tomatoes Detoxifying Charcoal Mud Mask and Miss Spa Hydrate sheet mask.

100_3283Makeup:

Primers: Revlon Photo Ready Perfecting Primer, Panda’s Dream Brightening Eye Base, and Too Faced Shadow Insurance eye primer (sample/travel size).

BB/CC Creams: CoverGirl CG Smoothers BB Cream in Light/Medium, Supergoop! Daily Correct CC Cream in Light/Medium. I like the option of something super light or with a bit more coverage.

Foundation: L’Oreal True Match Lumi in W1/2, L’Oreal True Match in W3, and L’Oreal Infallible in 608. I mix the True Match Lumi with one of the other two to get my perfect shade. Maybe I should have only brought two bottles, but I couldn’t choose!

Concealer: Nyx HD Concealer in Yellow and Green, Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer in 15 Fair and 20 Sand.

Powder: Maybelline Fit Me! Pressed Powder in 130.

Highlight/Contour: Lorac Pro Contour Palette, Nyx Illuminating Powder in Ritualistic, and Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess in Medium.

Blush: e.l.f. Blush Palette in Light: Four blushes in one sleek compact!

Eyeshadow: Too Faced Natural Eyes and Rock & Roll palettes: The two are pretty versatile, especially together, but I honestly did want to bring a third palette and forgot to pack one. I packed these and my contour palette, and I think mentally I just thought three palettes packed = three eye palettes packed.

Eye liners: Revlon Color Stay Liquid Pen, Revlon Color Stay retractable liner, Club Clio Kill Black pen, and Doucce waterproof pencil liner, all in black. The retractable Revlon is getting very low and I like the Doucce’s lasting power in my waterline better than the Revlon one. The Club Clio one makes thinner lines than the Revlon pen.

Mascara: Too Cool For School Dinoplatz Escalator Mascara: Once I got home, I wished I brought a second mascara. I have others open and would have preferred a little variety, especially since this one is waterproof and kind of dry.

Brows: Anastasia Beverly Hills pencil in Medium Brown and L’Oreal Brow Stylist Plumper in Medium/Dark.

Lip liners: Rimmel Moisture Renew in Universal, Nyx Retractable Lip Liner in Red, Rimmel Exaggerate in Obsession and Innocent.

Lipsticks, etc:

Revlon Color Stay Moisture Stain in Parisian Passion, Butter Lippy Liquid Lipstick in Dahling and Tea with the Queen, the Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes in Committed, Neutrogena Moisture Smooth Color Stick in Rich Raisin, Revlon Renewist in Coral Fixation, Estee Lauder Pure Color in Bois de Rose, Urban Decay Revolution in Protest, Teeez Read My Lips in Killing Me Softly, and Fyrinnae Lip Lustre in Pygmy Hippo. And oh, boy, did I mess up some of these. I wanted the Revlon Moisture Stain in New York Scene, which is my favorite red lipstick that I planned on using for Christmas, and grabbed this shade right next to it. I also grabbed the Teeez lipstick instead of the IPKN color-changing balm that I’d figured would be good when I wanted something light and more of a neutral pink. And honestly, a lot of these shades are similar.

Other lip products: 29 First Crush Lip Scrub, Carmex and eos lip balms.

Brushes: Beauty Blender (in its case), Sonia Kashuk Powder, Eyeshadow, and Smudger brushes from the travel kit, Japonesque blush, crease, and detail brushes from the travel kit, and Crown Brushes Deluxe Pointed Crease Brush.

100_3293Nails: Wet N Wild Wild Shine in Black Creme, Essie in Wrapped in Rubies, OPI in OPI Ink, Butter The Sweet Spot and Front Row. This gives me a pretty good range of shades. The Essie polish is a shimmery red with gold tones, while the Butter polish is a wine creme – still very different. And the OPI shade is a dark purple shimmer.

So what did you think of my collection? Would you want more or less variety in a month’s worth of beauty products? Is there something you couldn’t live without, or something you think is unimportant? I managed to forget a pair of tweezers, and it’s driving me kind of insane.

-xo Andi

Standard

5 thoughts on “What’s in my travel bag?

Leave a Reply

