subscriptions

December Birchbox!

Hey everyone!

So this month, I got my Birchbox a bit early. I woke up a bit later than usual on the tenth, ate breakfast and was going back to my room to get ready when I saw my Birchbox in front of my door! It was delivered around 9:00 AM and my roommate brought it inside by about 10:00 when usually we get our mail delivered around lunchtime. So of course I had to open it up right away and use everything that day!

The box: First, I’d like to say that this was mailed out in a pale blue mailer box, rather than the usual bright pink. You guys have no idea how much I love this, because I don’t like pink and find that it’s everywhere in regards to makeup/beauty brands and subscription boxes when there are so many other beautiful shades that could work just as well. I wouldn’t be surprised if this is just a holiday thing, though.

The box this month was also very lovely. The bottom was a light green, and the top was white with holographic silver in kind of a sweater-like pattern. It’s very pretty and evocative of winter without being gaudy or specific to any one holiday.

100_3183

The goodies:

A card with a $10 off $35 coupon for anything at Birchbox (not shown)
Oscar de la Renta perfume sample
Coola SPF 30 Face Sunscreen/Cucumber Moisturizer
Juara Coconut Illipe Hand and Nail Cream
The Balm Frat Boy blush
Coastal Scents Glamour Eyes duo

The perfume: So pretty! It looks like this perfume is new to Birchbox. I think I got this sampler before from somewhere else, but it’s still nice. It lasted a while and always was pleasant-smelling, but it’s a bit much for an everyday perfume.

The moisturizer: The last time I tried something from Coola, it was a sunscreen trying to be a BB cream. So I was a bit hesitant to see if this was actually a decent moisturizer. This surprisingly works nicely, and is good for sensitive skin. I like the cucumber addition, and the packaging is much nicer than the BB cream’s. It still is very hard to tell what the name of the product is, and there are still a lot of different unnecessary fonts on the bottle.

The hand cream: It’s a nice hand cream. It could settle into the skin a little faster, but you’re not waiting around forever with super oily hands or anything. I’m kind of ambivalent about coconut scented things – it’s not my favorite scent, but it smells nice. It’s not too strong, either, as I can’t stand things like cream that are too cloying.

The blush: It’s a pretty shade for blush, a good medium-toned pink. I’ve honestly never worn this sort of shade as an eyeshadow, and can’t imagine why anyone would. The backstory is a little weird, something about evoking the color of your blush when you pass your college crush on the way to class. It’s got football-themed packaging despite the name Frat Boy, and the backstory seems to feel more appropriate for high school than college.

The shadow duo: When choosing my sample this month, I honestly wasn’t sure which to get. The green looked so pretty, but I’m hesitant about golds. I don’t like ones that are too yellow-based. This gold is more of a tawny-based gold, and is so pretty! The two are not only super gorgeous, but also very nicely pigmented. The green is super pigmented – I put on way too much at first because I didn’t think it would be quite so pigmented, and had to blend it out like crazy to get it down to manageable levels. The two are great together, and they’re so appropriate for Christmas!

100_3192100_3185

Overall: A really great box this month! I didn’t get any real duds, and got to try Coola again and like it. And I managed to get a good perfume sample and didn’t get any hair products I might or might not use. This is when I love my Birchbox subscription!

Standard

5 thoughts on “December Birchbox!

  1. I love Fratboy blush! It’s one of my favourites. I even wrote about it in my blog post called “Top 5 Products”. You might want to check it out 🙂 I admire its stay on power and the tone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: October Empties | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

