beauty, subscriptions

October Ipsy Glam Bag

Hey everyone!

So about a week ago I was wondering when I was getting my Ipsy bag because I hadn’t received the email with the tracking info (I am one of those people obsessed with getting packages). And when I went onto Ipsy’s website it said it was already delivered! I went straight out to my mailbox, then checked my email and saw that the tracking email was sent out about three hours before that. Good job, Ipsy. I like being able to compulsively check those tracking numbers every three hours and wait around all day on the day of delivery instead of doing anything productive.

Granted, finding out that it was already delivered was kind of like Christmas come early (no joke – it SNOWED today).

Onto the review:

The theme:

Alter Ego. This works well for Halloween, and I think fall is the perfect time of the year to try new things and get out of your comfort zone every once in a while. The theme card had images of a girl with two looks. One was an everyday look, and the other was very crazy. Most of the products in my bag seemed to tie in with the everyday side of things, which is a shame because I like the crazier stuff.

The bag:

Last month’s Ipsy bag had a back and accent color along the front in this bronzey tan metallic shade that I thought looked cheap with how much of the bag was covered in it. This month, Ipsy decided to use the same material in a gold color for the entire front of the bag, which is somehow even worse. The back is a shiny black plastic. And while a different front and back go with the theme a bit, I didn’t like this bag design at all.

The goodies:

Eva Therapy Session Hair Mask

I don’t know what a hair mask is supposed to be, but I figured this was probably more like a deep conditioner. The directions on the back said that it could be used as a conditioner. I tried using it as a hair mask after I shampooed and conditioned my hair, but it seemed like using a conditioner, especially because I usually leave my conditioner in for a couple minutes before rinsing. It says to use this at least once a week, but as I wash my hair so infrequently I probably won’t use this all that often. Probably every two or three weeks. I didn’t notice a scent with this.

Peter Lamas Exfoliating Pumpkin Facial Scrub

I was excited about this. I first smelled it and seemed to like it (and then was wondering why I don’t usually go for pumpkin scents). When I used it, the scent ended up kind of bad, though. I’m not sure what happened. It might be the fact that I actually don’t like most pumpkin things except for pumpkin soup and roasted pumpkin seeds, or it might have been another ingredient. I’ve used this twice and felt like it worked okay (I liked the Vasanti Brighten Up exfoliator better).

The Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Liquid Lipstick

I like this shade. I have a couple lipsticks in similar shades, though they aren’t matte so something does stand out with this. This smells very strongly like candy canes, which isn’t always what I want to smell throughout the year and is sometimes too strong. I might buy the full size, one day when I don’t have a million open lipsticks.

Emite Professional Slant Tweezers

I’ve only ever used one set of tweezers for my brows throughout my life. This tip is absolutely tiny compared to those, and they’re big tweezers. I’m not used to the tip, though I thought something so precise and thin would be good for plucking hairs. Nope. It takes me at least five tries to pull out one hair because it slips through the tip. It may be how I’m holding it and how much pressure I’m using, as it takes a lot more pressure to close this than my old one. Or it could be that my old one is flatter so there’s a larger amount of the tip that comes in contact with the hair. I’ll probably use the new tweezers for things like picking out splinters or something more fine-detail. Also, did this have to be bright pink? I’ll save the feminist rant for another time, but I will say that this is a hideous shade and if I was looking to buy new tweezers, I would have never considered these solely on the color.

IT Cosmetics Hello Lashes 5-in-1 Mascara

This is probably the product I was most excited to try, except I currently have waaay too many mascaras opened and so will be holding off. It has a cushion grip on the handle, which was a nice touch. The 5-in-1 claim is for using this instead of five separate products for your lashes, rather than having five effects, but as I naturally have strong, healthy, long lashes and only use mascara I’m not entirely sure what will happen. The tip of the wand has those weird spikes coming off in different directions that always end up getting matted down with mascara.

The verdict:

Most products seemed okay with a mix of good and bad points. The bag, not so much because it once again looks incredibly cheap and gaudy. It didn’t follow the theme at all (the only products I can wear out are black mascara and a more traditional shade of lipstick, not exactly bold and adventurous over here). This was decent but not spectacular. I’m still considering stopping my Ipsy bag in the near future, most likely after I manage to spend my points for a freebie.

Standard

4 thoughts on “October Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. Great review love!! I totally agree that this bag looks on the cheap side! I didn’t like it! I loved the theme, but also don’t really feel the theme in the products. I was hoping for some crazy colored items, but we got really basic stuff. I wasn’t thrilled with this month. I loved the first couple of spoilers, but my bag had none of what I wanted haha. However, I know not every bag will be perfect lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Empties Post – November! | everimpractical

Leave a Reply

