beauty, hauls, makeup

Collective Birthday Haul

Hey everyone! I disappeared for over a week, I’m so sorry. But I did go on quite a bit of a shopping haul after my birthday and wanted to get everything in and have a chance to take pictures and try most of this out. I also bought a couple other things that are a bit more of a “need” rather than wants for when I have money to spend, which may be in the pictures but not mentioned.

Anyway, let’s get to it!

The collective hauls, making use of lots of birthday freebies and specials:

100_2748

This isn’t all of it, folks!

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. I like both these authors, and the premise sounds interesting (and exactly what I’d expect from the two of them). There are two versions of the cover, one black and one white, with the order of the authors’ names switched and one depicting an angel and the other a devil.

The Plantagenets by Dan Jones. It’s about the early English kings from the Crusades era. The cashier said that it did a great job at keeping all of the Johns and all of the Henrys (Henries?) separate.

Birchbox From Korea, With Love Box, which includes:

100_2751

Clio Kill Black Eye Marker. It’s got a super fine point, and the first time I used this to swatch the color traveled a little in the fine lines on my hand. This liner will probably redefine the liquid pen for me. That’s good, because I may be getting complacent from favoring the same liner for over five years.

Too Cool For School Dinoplatz Escalator mascara. The packaging is adorable – it’s a skyscraper, and then it slides up and reveals a dinosaur underneath! The mascara wand can be turned so that it gets longer (more space between bristles) or shorter (less space). I’m not too sure what either of those do, as I tried it out fully extended on one eye and shortest on the other. It seemed like I prefer the fully extended one on my lower lashes, and the denser version seemed to coat all of my upper lashes but both looked good and subtly different.

The blue dinosaur box slips into the skyscraper box.

The blue dinosaur box slips into the skyscraper box. I want to save this packaging just because it’s so cool!

Too Cool For School Egg Cream Mask. It’s a foaming mask but from the packaging looks like it may be a sheet mask? The yolks are supposed to moisturize while the egg whites tighten pores, control oil, and melt away blemishes. I’m not super crazy over sheet masks, as I’ve had weird results, but maybe this will be different.

IPKN Twinkle Lips. It feels like a balm, but is apparently a lip stain that reacts to each person’s lips for a personalized shade. It’s kind of light but still noticeable, and I love the idea of color-changing/personalized lip color. I haven’t really worn it more than for swatches yet, but that’ll change.

Tonymoly Magic Food Banana Hand Milk. You get two of these. I’m not crazy over the smell of bananas, so I’m hesitant to try these. But it’s cute packaging, as you should expect from Korean brands.

Tonymoly Panda’s Dream Brightening Eye Base. It’s packaged like a panda! It’s a creamy white retractable stick, and it does seem to work well, though I may end up using a brush to put it on because it’s too thick and flat to easily push against the darkest spots of my under-eye area.

100_2762

Kill Black liner, Twinkle Lips, and Panda’s Dream (before blending in).

Birchbox Sample Duo:

Marcelle Waterproof Eyeliner in Indigo. A pretty navy. It doesn’t seem too pigmented until you build it up, and I’m still kind of ambivalent on this.

Skyn Hydro Gel Cooling Eye Mask. Another thing I haven’t tried yet.

100_2754

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Revolt. A “sheer peachy-nude”. It is so much more than that description. Love this shade! And while I felt like I already own similar lipsticks, it turns out that it’s different enough than all of my others.

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eye Pencil in Empire. A “dark eggplant matte”. It really straddles the line between purple and blue/navy. I’ve already established that I love love LOVE purple on my eyes. Also, this was a free birthday gift.

Urban Decay Magic Primer Potion in Original. This was on sale because it’s the old style squeeze tube. I didn’t need it right away but it was so cheap that why not stock up?

Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Toasted. “A shimmery dark antique copper penny”. I wanted to see if this was the perfect one-shade eyeshadow look, and it’s not, but it is gorgeous. It’s hard to build it dark enough in the crease for my liking, and just doesn’t have as much taupe/plum as I was hoping, but it’ll be put to good use. I haven’t been disappointed by any brown UD shades yet.

Urban Decay 24/7 Velvet Glide On Eye Pencil in Black Velvet sample. This is UD’s free sample of choice, and while it’s a good pencil, I already have at least four black eye pencils that are open and another of this UD sample that I haven’t even started yet. It’s not shown here.

100_2769

Magic Primer Potion (blended in at the top), Empire liner (one swipe – color can be built up), Toasted shadow, and Protest lipstick

100_2795

Things bought at CVS. The Skyn packet was from Birchbox, and I forgot to add in the Marcelle liner here.

Ardell lashes 116 and 107. They were buy one, get one free.

Maybelline Color Tattoo Leather Cream Shadow in Chocolate Suede. Just to try. I know a lot of people like using this line for an eyeshadow base, so I put a light shade over this and liked the effect.

Marcelle Indigo liner (built up), Chocolate Suede shadow (top built up), concealer/foundation/BB creams not mentioned here.

Marcelle Indigo liner (built up), Chocolate Suede shadow (top built up), concealer/foundation/BB creams not mentioned here.

100_2802

Ulta purchases

Makeup Revolution Iconic 1 Revolution Eye Shadow Palette. A UD original Naked Palette dupe for $7.00. I’m actually kind of ambivalent about this. I was surprised at the range of shades in here but despite that, it seems kind of boring. I don’t feel inspired to pick this up and use it to create a look, because I’m too used to colors. The shadows are all nicely pigmented and easy to apply, and I couldn’t ask for anything more, especially at the drugstore level.

Makeup Revolution Unicorns Unite Salvation Eye Shadow Palette. I’m a sucker for unicorns and proud of it. The name caught my attention, and I would have probably bought this solely for the name. But… these are gorgeous bright shades, mostly in a purple/blue/green range, with several neutrals as well to finish off the look. Several of the shades in here remind me of the collection of shades in Urban Decay’s Shadow Box. The lighter shades that don’t seem to be there just are matte and are close to my skintone (as well as in the Iconic palette).

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Prague. It’s a matte merlot. I honestly have no idea why I bought this shade. It feels like it would have been a good September color- it’s toned down a bit from super bright summery fuchsia but still definitely stands out a lot.

Nyx Lip Liner in Red. I don’t actually have a red liner yet, and Ulta was having a Nyx sale.

100_2805

Ulta samples: I only got two, and thought they gave out three? One’s a primer by Smashbox, but the other is some weird thing for fresh breath that I don’t understand.

The rest of my stuff is from an indie brand called Fyrinnae, which has at least 200 eyeshadow colors, cool lip products in all colors of the rainbow, a range of lip products, and awesome names (most of the ones I got were from the Endangered Species collection). I’ve been meaning to get stuff from them for at least two years now, and this is the first time I actually ordered. I love their selection and prices (full size is usually under $10, and there are sample sizes of almost all their products), as well as the fact that they give free samples with each order. Everything was packaged in the color-changing mostly transparent plastic that I’m going to call fairy paper, and someone handwrote Thank You in sparkly green pen on my invoice. (I can do a post specifically on them, if anyone wants.) I got:

100_2792

Lip Lustres in Demon’s Desire and Pygmy Hippo. These are kind of like liquid lipstick, but they’re already more of a dry consistency when you apply (more like a cream or gel shadow or liner). After a couple hours my lips started feeling a little dry, but it’s hard to tell if that’s from this product or from the weather. Demon’s Desire is described as “Glowing red shimmer embedded in a semi-transparent dark base creates a sultry, vampy shade. Fades down to a muted wine hue.” I’ve worn this twice, and get more of the dark base than the red, and it didn’t really fade in the couple hours I wore it. It doesn’t look like a shimmery brown as pictured below. Pygmy Hippo is a “medium rosey neutral plum shade” and may very well be my new favorite lip color! It’s super wearable on a daily basis, and I love how it looks like I’m wearing something but just  These smell like vanilla, just super delicious without lingering much.

Demon's Desire, Pygmy Hippo

Demon’s Desire, Pygmy Hippo

Pixie Epoxy. This is kind of like a sticky eye primer that goes over your normal eye primer, and is apparently wonderful for glitter but still improves other finishes. I got the sample bottle, which is tiny but will still last a while.

Arcane Magic Eyeshadow in Steampunk. It’s from their color-changing line and is: “an antiqued deep copper on black, with a touch of gold sparkle and hues of pink/plum. Move it toward light or change the angle, and it becomes gold to chartreuse, the black base setting off the vivid highlight while still retaining its Victorian-era depth.” I’ve seen some light color shifts on swatches, but nothing too noticeable yet.

Eyeshadow in Sloth Snuggles, Snow Leopard, and Polar Bear. Sloth Snuggles (“deep to medium chocolate brown graced with a satiny mauve highlight”) appears to be my new perfect one-color shade. See this post for more info. I got Snow Leopard as well just to test the two out (it’s a “deep, satiny warm brown-taupe shade that has subtle hues of rose”). Polar Bear is a “pale gold, shimmery and soft” and was my free sample. It’s not a shade I would have picked myself, as they have so many other beautiful ones in all the colors of the rainbow.

100_2773

Left to right: Polar Bear, Snow Leopard, Sloth Snuggles, Steampunk. Top to bottom: dry, wet, dry with Pixie Epoxy, wet with Pixie Epoxy100_2770

So, um, yeah, it’s a lot and I’m currently probably not going to buy anything unnecessary until Christmas, even though I have a major wishlist. And I’ve still got plenty of things from before that I still have to review (including stuff from hauls all the way back in August). No shortage of post topics here!

Cheers!

Andi

Standard

One thought on “Collective Birthday Haul

Leave a Reply

