Uncategorized

Grungy ’90s Eye Look

Hey everyone!

I think you remember my post where I bought the Too Faced Stardust by Vegas Nay palette? Well, I ended up not really wearing it too often, as I have so many new palettes and trios and things. It’s sad. So obviously, the only thing to do is to think about a look I could recreate with this gorgeous palette, and then make it. I’m sure many of you have already seen it – it’s pink and gold, with lots of pretty shimmer and sparkle shades in names that evoke Instagram and Las Vegas.

Obviously, that calls for making a grunge eye look. Which you may know is kind of the exact opposite of what this palette is. The ’90s rock look has a junkie aesthetic that I’ve heard called heroin chic – pale, matte skin and super heavy eye makeup meant to look sunken, smudgy, and dark. For some reason, I’ve never really explored grunge makeup, even though I otherwise love the music and the style.

I originally decided to make a full grunge makeup look for one day, but didn’t get a chance to photograph it. I liked the look so much that I decided to recreate the eye look and post it (the rest of the look isn’t anything out of the way, and I’ll tell you more about how I did that down below). The second time around wasn’t quite as successful or intense, but it’s still a bit of a head-turner.

So in the nineties, as far as I can tell, matte was pretty much the finish of choice, and honestly a shimmery finish probably would ruin this eye look. So I went with Chandelier, Millennial, Girl’s Night, Double Tap, and Sin City for a wide variety of colors. I really like the first three – they’re similar hues in different tones, and while they ended up a little warmer than I like (I prefer more tans/browns than the peachy shades) they’re perfect for this look. The warmth makes it look like I haven’t been sleeping properly, especially because these colors are everywhere around the eye. Double Tap, a gorgeous maroon that’s matte (the slight sparkles in the pan don’t really show up) goes well with that idea.

100_2612

Essentially, this look is made by layering and blending and then layering and blending again and again and again. The eye is in a circular shape, for some reason, so the inside gets about as much color and attention as the outside. I also went heavy on the eye pencil and smudged it out with the shadow, and used mascara. And while it’s a fun look, it can come across as a bit intimidating.

100_2599

The face makeup that I went for was, again, kind of matte. I used a matte face powder and kept contouring light, with no highlighter and just a bit of bronzer to emphasize that I do actually have cheekbones. I kept my brows a bit messy but went over them to fill them in and make them a tad darker than usual. I probably should have worn a lighter shade of foundation, as well, but oh well. And with how the eyes are supposed to look, I could have also skipped concealer under them.

There are so many great ’90s lips to go for! Grunge was apparently big on either nudes or reds, especially in mattes, but I went with a brown in a non-matte formula (Urban Decay Revolution in Strip over Rimmel Exaggerate lip pencil in Obsession) for a more fall vibe.

The results? I’m going to have to tone down this look a little more for a decent everyday look, but it definitely is a fun change to my usual styles. And if you’re thinking that this isn’t too bad, remember you’re seeing the tamer version.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Grungy ’90s Eye Look

Leave a Reply

