beauty, reviews, subscriptions

September 2015 Ipsy Glam Bag

Hi everyone! This month’s glam bag managed to arrive on my birthday along with a present from my sister (and a package for my roommate). I will say that Ipsy forgot to tape my pink mailer, and that while my bag and the accompanying info card were in there, it was annoying because it could have fallen out, or been more easily damaged during shipping, or someone could have gone through it and taken or used things.

The bag:

It’s a camel/goldish bag this month. I loved the textured part on the front. I didn’t mind the gold material as the accent color on the front, but didn’t like it as the only one on the back. It was great for fall, and I’m using it for my makeup kit in my bookbag.

The theme: Face Fashion. Yawn.

The goodies:

NYX ipsy Eyeshadow Trio (an exclusive trio for ipsy subscribers – I think everyone received one in their bag).
Elizabeth Mott Queen of the Fill Tinted Brow Gel in Light/Medium
First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream
tre’StiQue Mini Matte Lip Crayon in Nantucket Nude
Octavio Molina Argan Oil

The shadows:

I was actually disappointed. I love the majority of NYX products I’ve tried, and I think it’s obvious that I like ipsy, but this just didn’t really wow me. The lightest shade of any trio/quad is almost always more of a highlighting shade, and this one was much too dark. It blended in with my skin tone way too much, and in some light the only way I could tell I was wearing this was because I saw the shimmer. The middle color was alright but not spectacular. And the last one confused me a little. Is it meant to be a dark gunmetal shade, or just a basic black? Either way, it’s poorly pigmented (it’s a matte shade when the others are shimmers). Replace it with an actual highlighting shade and I’d have been much more content with this trio.

The brow gel:

Again, a disappointment. I liked how pigmented this was, except for how every time I used this it got on the skin around my brows, as well. It got everywhere. If I keep trying and manage to get it to go on how I want, I might replace my Benefit Gimme Brow with it just to save $4.00. Maybe. (On a side note, I’m not sure if I should have received this in Light/Medium or Medium/Dark. I bought Gimme Brow in Light/Medium just because someone close to me said I can go a little too dark on my brows right before I bought it, but it’s very light compared to my natural color, and this is similarly lighter than I’d like. Brands need to offer an actual Medium shade.)

The cream:

It says it can be used from head to foot, but it will not be used on my face. I’m hesitant on multi-use products, and I feel like the skin on my face should be treated differently than the rest of my body. Also, there’s no way I’m going to stop using my Olay. This did do wonders on a weird dry patch I got on my neck, though. I also rarely use body lotion and have a million bottles to go through before this.

The lip crayon:

A gorgeous shade! I honestly haven’t used enough lip crayons to really know if I like them or not (honestly, I think it’s more a question of what category of lip product does this fall into. It’s not really a lipstick, but not really anything else, either). But I love nudes and don’t have a matte one yet.

The argan oil:

I already have argan oil, which I’ve used twice since I first got it in last month’s Ipsy bag. There’s already argan oil in my shampoo, and I hate having to use hair products. Pass.

100_2585

Overall: Disappointing. I had high hopes for this bag, and I think getting lackluster products that I was excited to try is worse than getting things I just didn’t want or like straight off the bat. I honestly want to like the product, and every time it doesn’t work right I feel worse. Is it something I’m doing wrong? Is it just a bad product from an otherwise-good brand?

I’m also thinking of getting rid of my Ipsy bag. I keep on ending up at least slightly more impressed by my Birchbox, and I’ve been buying too much makeup lately (I keep getting all these offers from stores about things that I actually want to buy). Birchbox also offers more of an overall experience.

Standard

2 thoughts on “September 2015 Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. Reading your review reminded me of how I felt about this month’s bag! I haven’t even opened the nyx eyeshadow to swatch it and I’m so glad I didn’t receive the argan oil because I’m pretty sure I have enough hair oil samples to last me a lifetime. I just subbed to BB so I’m looking forward to being able to compare them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

