Uncategorized

The Sweater Weather Tag

Hey everyone! I saw PolishedByAmy do this tag, and she nominated everyone who read it to complete this. I’m one of those people who loves reading the questions, reading what other people say, and then figuring out what I’d give as an answer. So, um, I answered all these as I read her post… and here you go!

Favorite candle scent:

I own two candles. I’m going to go with my Cashmere Plum one that I got at Target. I’m super picky about candle scents, where things that I normally love scent-wise just don’t work for me. And candles are so expensive, so I have to really like a scent before I’m willing to commit to it.

Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?

I like tea and hot chocolate, and will drink coffee as needed for the caffeine, but only with milk and sugar (and maybe hot chocolate mix, vanilla, and/or the hazelnut syrup someone left at my house). I do like vanilla lattes, but they’re coffee-flavored drinks, not coffee. If you like Starbucks you do not actually like coffee.

What’s the best fall memory you have?

My family would take an hour-long ride out to this apple orchard in the country every year, and we’d stock up on all sorts of varieties of apples and pick out pumpkins and then my dad would make delicious homemade applesauce.

What makeup trend do you prefer: dark lips or winged liner?

If I’m wearing makeup, I am almost always wearing liner. I don’t always wing it out, so as long as I’m wearing liner without the wing I’ll choose dark lips.

Best fragrance for fall?

I don’t do seasonal fragrances. I’m currently finishing up an old bottle of Elizabeth Arden’s Red Door Revealed and using Elizabeth Arden Sunflowers, as well as little rollerballs.

Favorite Thanksgiving food?

Mashed sweet potatoes with brown sugar and marshmallows. I don’t like turkey, stuffing, or pumpkin pie.

What is autumn like where you live?

I come from Pennsylvania, and it starts out with Indian summer in September and slowly gets colder. The leaves don’t change colors for as long, which is sad, but there is definitely a chill in the air all throughout the season. It rains a bit, as well.

This is my fifth year at my college in upstate New York, which overlooks the Hudson River. It’s very picturesque with all the redbrick buildings. Even though I’m only about 200 miles north of my home, max, it’s so much windier and prettier! The colors are so much more vivid. It’s a bit colder, as well. September is still decently warm – I wore a sweater, tank top, and jeans today and didn’t need the sweater after lunch. Granted, there have been at least two random snowstorms in the fall since I’ve been here. Nothing beats having a snowball fight in your Halloween costume.

Most worn sweater?

I bought this muted purple and gray/tan striped cardigan before freshman year. It’s got all these beautiful knit patterns or whatever they’re called, and it’s so misshapen and has holes in it, and I love it. I can pair it with pretty much every T-shirt and tank top I own. And I’ve been reading this as most worn-out until now, but I think that still may be the sweater I wear the most.

Football games or jumping in leaf piles?

I did marching band in high school, so football games.

Favorite type of pie?

Apple!

What song really gets you in the spirit of fall?

Fields of Gold by Sting, or Wake Me Up When September Ends by Green Day. Wake Me Up was my favorite song played on the Top 40 radio station I found on my portable radio in October 2004 or 2005, which was one of the first times I found music that didn’t come from my parents. I’d go out into the backyard and dance around to it. Fields of Gold mentions Indian summer and captures the feeling perfectly, especially as I grew up on the rural side of the suburbs and know all about what cornfields and wheatfields and things look like.

Is pumpkin spice worth the hype?

I’ve never actually had a PSL, and don’t like pumpkin pie or pumpkin roll or any of those desserts, so I’m going to go with no.

Favorite fall TV show?

I don’t actually know any fall TV shows, but when I was into The Vampire Diaries I did enjoy all the outdoor/fall scenes in the first season.

Skinny jeans or leggings?

Skinny jeans all the way. They have pockets and can come in an inseam length that fits me without unattractively piling up at the ankles.

Combat boots or Uggs?

I’m a person with eyes and a rock-based sense of style. I’m affronted that someone actually thinks these are comparable.

Halloween – yay or nay?

I love candy, and I love costumes (even though I always hate coming up with what I want to be). I wish there were more opportunities for wearing costumes.

Fall mornings or evenings?

Both! Mornings are crisp and let you burrow under blankets while reading a good book, and evenings mean campfires and flannel.

What do you think about Black Friday?

It’s overly excessive. My family goes out around 7 AM if we do go shopping and there are still plenty of deals. You don’t need to camp out the night before. In fact, you should be spending that time with the family and friends that you’re buying those presents for.

One Fall 2015 trend you love?

Grunge makeup? I don’t know if it’s specific to this year or just a fall thing, because grunge = flannel and flannel = fall. I love grunge music and dress kind of in that aesthetic a good amount, but never really explored the makeup look before. It’s all overplayed eyes, which I love! I’m planning a grunge look/tutorial.

I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you’ve read this please also answer these questions! I’m nosy and love finding out more about you all.

Standard

Leave a Reply

