beauty, hair, makeup, skincare, subscriptions

Birchbox September 2015

Hey guys! Sorry I haven’t been around much lately – It’s not so much that my classes are taking up all of my time, but more of that I’m still not fully used to my schedule yet. But here’s my Birchbox review for the month! My Ipsy Glam Bag apparently is supposed to arrive tomorrow (which is also my birthday and I should be getting some presents).

The theme: You’re Beautiful, in honor of Birchbox’s fifth anniversary. I’m not super excited by the box’s look, which is a lot of colors all overlaid on each other to create brushstroke-looking effects and different patterns and things. I think it’s just a little much – too many colors, too many textures.

The goodies:

100_2564

First, I chose the Anastasia Beverly Hills Perfect Brow Pencil in Medium Brown. The hand swatch was kind of disappointingly non-pigmented, but I actually really liked it on my brows, as it gave them enough definition without looking fake. I couldn’t believe how small the pencil was, but it’ll still last a while.

100% Pure Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream. I have horrible dark circles under my eyes, and while I usually don’t have a lot of puffiness, this will give me a definite boost (especially if I have to pull any late nights). I haven’t seen too much difference yet, but I haven’t been wearing it for too long yet.

Davines OI Shampoo, Conditioner, and All in One Milk. When I first found I got these, I was confused as to why I had seven things in my Birchbox. Then I was like, oh, I’m a shampoo snob and will only use sulfate-free, preferably organic shampoo, and figured I wouldn’t use that sample. But it’s sulfate-free! Both it and the conditioner have that kind of organic-y scent that you can probably expect. I’ve never used a conditioner that tied in with a sulfate-free shampoo, so I was unused to how thick it was.

I did a quick spritz of the milk and ran it through my hair. It’s a spray and it smells wonderful! It’s kind of a clean scent but also kind of spicy and sweet and just really different and nice. I’m not entirely sure what this does, as everything except the name and “Made in Italy” are in Italian and French, but it mostly seemed to make my hair look even more greasy than it was four days after washing my hair. Maybe if I used it when my hair was cleaner? (This is why I don’t like using a lot of product in my hair).

POP Beauty Bright Up Your Life Eye Shadow Trio in Sugar Plum. It’s so pretty and I love purples. I did a quick swatch and fell in love with the third color, which is a super pigmented and super shimmery warm brown. It also seemed to be the most pigmented of the three (though they’re all well-pigmented). I’ve also expressed my love for shades very similar to that before.

Harvey Prince Hello rollerball. The scent is nice, but it’s not really for me. I also have about ten other rollerballs that I want to use/get rid of first.

Swatches

Swatches

The verdict: It’s mixed. Nobody seems to like getting perfume samples. Need to use the milk and eye cream more before really deciding what I think. I don’t need to buy shampoo or conditioner for another six months, easily, but I’ll probably look into the shampoo when I do need to purchase it again. It’s the eyeshadow and brow pencil that really stood out to me.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Birchbox September 2015

Leave a Reply

