beauty, looks and tutorials, makeup

Urban Decay Shadow Box

Hey everyone! I’m reviewing the UD Shadow Box today! I bought it directly from UD’s website.

The price: $34.00. I had a 10% off discount, so $30.60.

The packaging: It’s a cardboard box with an Urban Decay “UD” logo on the top. I think it has the magnet in the plastic. The plastic is annoying from a storage standpoint, because you can’t stack any on top of it or anything. The prints on the palette are really beautiful. They’re dark and look like smoke, which works well with the title. The inside includes twelve shades and a mirror.

I’ve already said in my haul post that I expected this to be more like the UD Ammo Palette, which includes a brush (but only ten shadows). I’d honestly thought this was the same packaging/size as the Ammo Palette, but it’s not. It is close in size, but not the same. It does seem that there is enough space for a brush. (This Shadow Box is based off the Ammo Palette).

The colors:

Sin: champagne shimmer
Indo: bright metallic emerald green shimmer
Bordello: pale mauve shimmer with gold micro-glitter
Tornado: vibrant deep purple shimmer
Smog: deep coppery bronze shimmer
Blackout: blackest black matte
Flash: bright iridescent purple shimmer
Mushroom: warm gray shimmer
Lost: medium metallic brown shimmer
Freelove: golden vibrant peach shimmer
Moonshadow: bright navy blue shimmer with tonal sparkle
Baked Cowboy: golden bronze shimmer with tonal sparkle

Moonshadow and Baked Cowboy are apparently both new. If you’ve purchased any other UD palettes, you’ve probably come across some of these shades before. Personally, I already had Sin, Smog, Blackout, and Mushroom, the first two from the Ammo Palette and the second two from the Smoked Palette.

Overall, this is a decent palette for creating multiple looks. Sin is the only light shade, for the inner corner or under the brow, which is a little disappointing. I didn’t mind that most of the shades are shimmers, which is funny because that was one of the most disappointing parts of Ammo Palette. Maybe I’m applying things differently.

The looks I created: This is a week of looks. This was my first week of classes, so I didn’t want my looks to be too intense just yet before I scare my professors or anything.. I was also trying a couple different liner colors this week. And I apologize profusely for my brows.100_2314

Sunday. I forget exactly what I used, but this looks like Sin, Baked Cowboy, and either Smog or Lost (or both).

100_2359

Monday. Sin, Mushroom on the lid, Flash in the outer corner, and what is probably Tornado in the crease/along the lower lash line.

100_2375

Tuesday. Looks like Sin, Freelove, Tornado, and Blackout.

100_2414

Wednesday. Sin, Baked Cowboy, Moonshadow, Lost.

100_2437

Thursday. Sin, Bordello, and Tornado. It’s all about the white liner today, folks.

100_2460

Friday. Sin, Baked Cowboy, Indo, and either Lost or Smog.

100_2487

Saturday. Sin, Moonshadow, and probably Baked Cowboy. The liner is the UD 24/7 Liner in Plushie. I love purple liners, partly because they look great paired with my eyes. I wasn’t sure how it would go with the blue in the crease, but I really like it.

The verdict: I really do love this palette! It’s got a great mix of neutrals, darks, and brights. I hope that it’s been apparent that the only thing this palette needed was a second pale shade other than Sin. The Ammo palette, despite having only ten shades, had three light ones: Sin, Maui Wowie, and Polyester Bride. Okay, I still usually went for Sin 75% of the time, but having options is nice! I also didn’t realize just how often I used Baked Cowboy until I wrote this all out.

It’s 100% worth even the full price. I will probably use this for my next overnight trip, which will most likely be Thanksgiving. Storage is a little annoying, and the magnet doesn’t seem anywhere near as strong as most of my other palettes, but these colors make up for it.

So, what did you think? Do you guys want another week of looks for the other palettes I still have to review (UD Vice 3, Too Faced Country, and TF Stardust by Vegas Nay)?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay Shadow Box

  1. Pingback: WHAT I AM CURRENTLY CRUSHING ON…SEPTEMBER | Everything and Nothin'

  2. Pingback: Makeup Look with Too Faced Country Palette | everimpractical

Leave a Reply

