hauls, makeup

Too Faced/Urban Decay Haul

Hey everyone! I finally realized that if you buy makeup directly from the brands, when you first go on you can get a discount applied. Brands also like giving out lots of samples, which you don’t get as many of in stores and things. Both of these are incentives to buy directly from brands instead of from other stores (and may I point out that a few stores also charge a little extra?).

I first traveled onto Urban Decay’s site to look at shadow colors to match to my favorite eyeshadow shade (read about it here). I got a 10% off discount. I then ended up on Too Faced’s site, where I received a 20% off discount, which expired a week after I requested it. I wasn’t planning on buying makeup that quickly, but then decided to go for it. The discount was finicky, only being used on items that weren’t considered new or on sale already. I would have bought UD stuff before that, but decided to get the Too Faced makeup before UD because only one could wait. But then UD was giving away an eyeshadow with every purchase one day last week in honor of the founder’s birthday. I unfortunately placed my order too late in the day for the limited quantities, but I did receive an extra sample.

My purchases:

Too Faced Country Palette

Too Faced Melted Liquefied Lipstick in Melted Coral

Urban Decay Vice 3 Palette

Urban Decay Shadow Box

Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Strip (which, if I remember right, is an online exclusive)

My free gifts:

Too Faced LashGasm Mascara

Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Cocoa-Infused Matte Bronzers

Urban Decay 24/7 Velvet Glide-On Eye Pencil in Black Velvet

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara

My thoughts:

The Too Faced discount was annoying. I was torn between the Country and Sugar Pop palettes, and probably would have chosen the Sugar Pop one, except for how it was still considered “new” despite being introduced for Spring 2015 (AKA roughly six months ago). Therefore, the discount didn’t apply to the palette, and I chose the Country palette instead. I’m glad, as it’s got some absolutely gorgeous colors in mostly shimmers and more of a pink/purple/blue set. So far I’ve liked it a lot more than I thought I would have, and am so glad I got this instead of the Sugar Pop palette.

The swatches! The first color was actually visible on my skin, though it doesn't appear that way here. And sorry about the blurriness - I only realized after I washed this makeup off.

The swatches! The first color was actually visible on my skin, though it doesn’t appear that way here. And sorry about the blurriness – I only realized after I washed this makeup off.

Too Faced lets you choose two free samples out of four total. I was only excited by the mascara, as having extra mascara in your makeup bag is never a bad thing, and as I had a reaction to the face primer when I last tried it, I had to choose between two options, neither of them really especially appealing, as a second freebie. Such a hard life, I know.

I’ve wanted to try something from the Melted line for quite some time now. I really liked the formula, found the applicator a little different than most others I’ve seen but really useful, and found the shade to be a step above okay (it can look a little too orange for my taste in some light, which I wasn’t expecting). This is definitely a summer shade, though, and while I can still wear it for a couple weeks, another shade could have maybe gotten more use.

UD Strip on left. TF Melted Coral on right.

UD Strip on left. TF Melted Coral on right.

I did receive both of the Urban Decay samples earlier, with other purchases, and liked both of them. Okay, I loved the Perversion mascara, and was considering buying the two-pack (which saves money) but decided against it as I already have a couple mascaras open and don’t need more.

The palettes are both gorgeous, though I already owned four of the shades in the Shadow Box (Sin and Smog with the Ammo Palette and Blackout and Mushroom with the Smoked Palette). I wanted this mostly because it’s pretty and partly because I thought Lost was a somewhat decent dupe for my favorite eyeshadow shade. Tornado may also work. So far, the packaging seems a little gimmicky (read: that “UD” logo is actually raised) and I had assumed that this was the same shape/layout as the Ammo Palette (close but no cigar) and would have a brush in it like the Ammo Palette did. It has twelve shades instead of ten for the same price, so I can’t complain about not having a brush. I’d like to point out that this was the first palette I ever bought from UD that didn’t include either a brush or an eyeliner.

Aren't they gorgeous?

Aren’t they gorgeous?

The Vice 3 palette is HUGE but it also has some limited edition colors that may double as dupes. It’s also got lots of other shades that I’m super excited about. There are only six matte shades, and all the others are shimmers/satins in a variety of colors. I’m so excited by this palette, you have no idea, because my two favorite looks include bright colors and dark smoky shades, and this lets you do both plus has more subtle shades to pair with them or wear on their own, on a larger scale than any other palette I have. Before this haul, I would have actually said that the Ammo Palette is probably my best all-around palette for creating both kinds of looks (though I got slightly annoyed by the fact that ALL of the shades were shimmers without anything else to round them out).

100_2264

As there were so many shades, it was hard for my camera to focus on all of these at once and really capture the textures. So here are several pictures, even though some of these shades still don’t show up as beautifully as in real life.

100_2248 100_2245

100_2267

The lipstick is a beautiful but dark brownish mauve in a lovely creamy formula. It’s a very good fall shade, and I seem to naturally gravitate toward fall lips and lipsticks with browns in them. I hate to say it, but it looks like it may be a little too dark for me. I’m going to play around with it, maybe with an ombre or something to get it more wearable.

So that’s my haul! I’m going to write more in-depth reviews once I’ve played around with these more and post looks and things (though if you look at my August 2015 Birchbox or E.L.F. Illuminating Primer posts, you can see one of the first looks I tried using the Too Faced palette).

Standard

Leave a Reply

