beauty, subscriptions

August 2015 Birchbox

Hey everyone! I’m back, and reviewing this month’s Birchbox, which is a very good haul. I liked all of these, except for the small size of the CC cream (seriously, how many BB/CC creams do I need? I got two of them last month in my Birchbox) and the bronzer/blush. This month’s theme was Soak It Up! and while I didn’t go down the shore this summer, I did enjoy this theme better than Ipsy’s Prep School theme and fall colors.

I received:

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Leave-in Conditioner

Dr. Jart+ Vital Hydra Solution Deep Hydration Sheet Mask

R+Co DEATH VALLEY Dry Shampoo

Supergoop! Daily Correct CC Cream

theBalm Balm Desert Bronzer/Blush

I normally use a leave-in conditioner spray after I wash my hair, which started when I first bleached my hair and it needed extra loving. I’m about to rebleach and color my tips blue (I have a post coming out about that). My other leave-in conditioner (Healthy Sexy Hair) is getting down there in the bottle. While this one is tiny, it will hold me over for a while longer (I probably won’t have to buy any until the New Year). It also smells nice, kind of like a fresh berry scent, maybe? I’m bad at naming scents, but it’s lovely.

The dry shampoo is another of those things that I use. While my bottle is still pretty full (I have one from Tresemme), this one smells nice. It’s a light, clean scent more than anything else, and it doesn’t smell like an aerosol. I generally use this if my hair is starting to look greasy after three or four days without washing (when you color your hair, especially with fun colors that bleed easily, washing your hair less is key). As dry shampoo and leave-in conditioner are seriously the only two hair products I use other than sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner, this month’s hair stuff = win.

The sheet mask is from Korea! I’ve started paying attention to Korean skincare, and sheet masks are a thing. The only sheet mask I’ve ever tried is an eye mask that I think I was allergic to, as after a couple minutes my eyes were watering and the skin was starting to tingle in a bad way. I’ve never known I was allergic to anything in face products before, but between this and the Too Faced Hangover Rx face primer, I think there may be something going on. Also, my skin seems to get a lot of dry patches, so this hydrating mask is perfect.

The CC cream is tiny, seriously. I like the coloration, blendability, SPF 35 (which is the highest I’ve ever seen – most are at 15). It gives a slightly dewy finish, but doesn’t look shiny at all. The scent is a little odd, like it’s almost a nice, barely present scent, but there’s something just a little off.

And at long last, the bronzer/blush combo. It’s small, so getting it on a brush and more evenly distributed on the bristles is a bit of a challenge. I use the brush that came with my Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess Bronzer, which is slightly circle-shaped but flat so that it can fit in the bronzer container. The width of the bristles is about the same as the width of the bronzer/blush. It’s a pretty color with a very slight shimmer, but brown enough that I’d say it’s a bronzer first, and it can act like a blush the way that any bronzer can be used as a blush.

The brush I used for the blush/bronzer.

The brush I used for the blush/bronzer.

Left - CC cream, blended in at the top Right - bronzer/blush

Left – CC cream, blended in at the top
Right – bronzer/blush that didn’t show up too well

Overall: a lot of things I like! I was happily surprised with both hair products being things I actually use, getting the mask which I wanted to try, and the makeup being things that I will use. This is one bag that I don’t even care about what any of this costs, because it’s all worth it.

Standard

4 thoughts on “August 2015 Birchbox

  1. Pingback: E.L.F. Illuminating Face Primer | everimpractical

  2. Pingback: Too Faced/Urban Decay Haul | everimpractical

  3. Pingback: Start of School Makeup Look! | everimpractical

Leave a Reply

