beauty, nails

Essie Lilacism and Butter Violet’s Revenge

More nail polish reviews! And I managed to wear makeup today for the first time since Wednesday. Touching my cheek was painful from getting my wisdom teeth removed and my face is currently somehow super dry and gross and not at all what I want to put makeup on. But I did another very quick French mani the other day using new nail polish. And then promptly took a nap and messed up most of the nails on one hand.

I used Essie’s Lilacism, described as “a satiny smooth lilac” on Essie’s website. It’s a pale lilac, and the shade I was searching for for well over a year. Many pale purples end up too pink or too blue, in my opinion, and this one walks the fine line of being read as purple. It’s also currently on my toes. I like the finish, as well – shiny and creamy at the same time. It does need 2-3 coats to get a good opacity.

Violet’s Revenge was used as my tip color. It’s part of the Allure & Butter Arm Candy collection, and I think exclusively part of the four-color set of minis. It’s described as a “blue-violet creme”. It’s a good bright for fall. Again, it has a nice shine and creamy finish. All of the pictures I took turned out solely blue, but this honestly has much more grape in it. A quick Google search showed that a lot of other images turned out incredibly blue, as well, and that those that didn’t ended up kind of pale and washed out.

100_2018

These two look very nice together. Despite Violet’s Revenge having much more blue in it than Lilacism, you still read both of these shades as purples. For some reason, a lot of purple polishes I’ve tried end up reading more as a pink or a blue, and for two of them to be read properly together is great. I wanted to use Lilacism because pastels are great for summer, but Violet’s Revenge works to turn it into a bit more of a fall look.

I’d also like to point out that these colors lasted three days on my nails with no chipping and no top coat. It doesn’t sound impressive, but for me it is, as polish will usually start chipping on the second to third day.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Essie Lilacism and Butter Violet’s Revenge

  1. Ohhh, your nails look so good! Shame that it lasts only 3 days… :/ I’ve heard people having the same exact problem with Essie – I, however, apply OPI’s Top Coat, wich makes it last soooo much longer!

    Lovely post! 🙂

    Have a great day!

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

