beauty, looks and tutorials, reviews

Nyx Lipstick Review!

Hey everyone! I am still reviewing things from my latest Ulta/Target haul about a month ago, which is kind of sad because I expected to be done this about two weeks ago. Most of what’s left probably isn’t going to be reviewed because, really, do you want me to review lashes and EOS balms? I thought so.

But today’s review is the Nyx Butter Lipstick in Snow Cap. It’s my first Nyx lipstick ever, so it’s actually pretty exciting. As you might have been able to tell, I normally go for neutral and nude lips, and this shade is a perfect nude.

So let’s start with packaging. The case is the color of the lipstick, which is useful for telling the colors apart easily if you have a million of these lipsticks. There’s also a clear portion of the case, so you can see the actual lipstick and check that yes, it’s the same shade as the plastic. Y’know, in case someone (little kids, usually) gets into your makeup collection and decides to recap all of your lipsticks with the wrong cap or something. When twisting the lipstick up or down, it’s a little shuddery and makes noises, which is slightly annoying and screams of being cheaply made. I want to try another shade or two to see if this is just a problem with this one lipstick, or something the entire line suffers from.

100_1830

The formula is buttery. It’s reminding me of some of the Estee Lauder Pure Color line – super smooth and rich-feeling, so that your lips feel moisturized. It feels like a lot of the color comes off at once because it’s such a smooth, buttery formula, which means like it feels more pigmented for longer (and does not mean that the lipstick will get used up very quickly). I really love this formula.

Color-wise, here are swatches. I’ve added a couple similar colors in my collection as comparisons: Tarte’s Amazonian Butter Lipstick in Angelic Nude, Estee Lauder’s Color Pure Lipstick in Pink Parfait (though it is a shimmer finish), and Butter London’s Lippy Liquid Lipstick in Tea With the Queen, which they do offer in other lipstick and gloss lines. 100_1844100_1848

So here’s a quick look, heavy on the eye colors and not much else. My bronzer (Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess in Medium) and blush (Cover Girl Classic Color in Rose Silk) look kind of washed out, but I swear they’re there. I used Nudie and Heaven from the Too Faced Natural Eyes palette on the browbone, and the Hard Candy Raining Men palette on the eye, specifically the second, third, fourth, and eighth shades from the left. Then Revlon Color Stay liquid pen for a slight cat eye. I forget if I used my Maybelline Volum’Express mascara or the Urban Decay Perversion mascara.

100_1917100_1851

Standard

Leave a Reply

