skincare

My daily skincare routine

Hey everyone! I’ve been mentioning this in quite a few recent posts, and wanted to write this. And then life happened.

My morning routine is pretty simple. First, I use Neutrogena Acne Wash or a generic equivalent, which is usually cheaper.

Then I use Formula 10.0.6 So Totally Clean Acne Toner. I love this product. When I first found out about it a year or so ago, it made such a difference because it was the only thing, other than moisturizer, that I used every day. It can be used up to three times a day and smells decently. Just be careful that it’s not too drying, as it does contain alcohol.

I follow up with Olay Active Hydrating Beauty Fluid. This is the original Olay, and the one that my mom has sworn by for years. This is also a very inexpensive option, especially for Olay, as it’s under $10.

Then comes my evening routine, which is not so much of a routine as it is a free-for-all of whatever I feel like using that night, as many products don’t need to be used daily. I also limit myself to two acne-fighting products a night, as it seems like too many could be problematic.

Sometimes I go for a makeup remover before I start. I have wipes (from Neutrogena), but they seem overall more expensive and less effective than either a liquid or lotion (both of which I own – they’re samples from Estee Lauder). The lotion seems better than the liquid for things that are waterproof or whatever. so it probably has oil or something in it. I don’t always use a makeup remover, as I can use an oil cleanser instead, so it’s mostly for if I’ve gone heavy on my makeup or something.

The oil cleanser (I just reviewed some here) is followed by a second cleanser, which is called the double cleansing method. I love to switch out my morning cleanser for something else here, either an exfoliator a couple times a week or a scrub like Neutrogena’s Acne Stress Scrub.

Sometimes I’ll add a mask after that, usually once or twice a week. As I have been breaking out like I never did as a teenager for the past couple weeks, I added in Yes To Tomatoes Detoxifying Charcoal Mud Mask, as well as Botanics Ionic Clay Mask (which has willowbark in it, which naturally has salicylic acid) and the Biore Self Heating One Minute Mask.

After this, I add my Formula 10.0.6 acne toner from this morning, then possibly add a lip scrub from 26 before once again moisturizing.

Skincare is always one of those things that confused me. Nobody ever explained it to me and so it’s been more of a guessing game to figure things out. I mean, I never even owned a face cleanser/wash until I was eighteen. I knew masks were a thing but used them sporadically at best through the years, and was taught to moisturize before applying makeup, but otherwise did not understand a thing. It’s only been through finding a couple odd products and looking up stuff that I’ve been able to get to this point.

If anyone wants me to post more about any of these products, leave a comment and I gladly will!

Standard

Leave a Reply

