DIY

DIY Palette

Hey everyone! I’m sure most of you have heard about empty palettes – things like Z Palettes that allow you to depot your makeup and put them into more convenient and streamlined packaging. The thing is, making your own palettes is easy and cheap, and can be more personalized to your makeup collection and style.

I was searching around the internet for some DIY tips, and most of the ones I found focused on taking DVD cases and turning them into palettes, which I think are roughly the same size as the normal sized Z Palette. But I have a large makeup superpalette that I thought could work.100_1734

Ultimately, I plan on making it a multi-tiered palette, as it’s about an inch tall, but I’m going to wait until I’m at my college and have access to a full woodshop. I also have plans to try out a couple other designs that will be fully built from scratch, instead of made from a pre-existing box.

You will need:

A box. Mine’s roughly 11x7x1″. It does have a metal close, with the bow as a decoration/means to keep it from accidentally opening.100_1740

Magnetic sheets. I bought these in the craft section of Walmart – two 5×8 sheets for $1.97.100_1741

A pen.

An Exacto knife/box cutter with cutting mat and straightedge. I just used scissors, as all of my knives are packed up. Only use scissors if you can manage a very straight cut.

Rubbing alcohol to clean surfaces.

Decorations, if you want. I’m not putting any on mine.

Step 1: Clean the bottom of the box with rubbing alcohol, and then place the first magnet sheet into the box, white side up. Stick it in one corner so that it’s flush with the two walls.

100_1744

Step 2: Press along the crease so that the magnet lays as flat as possible along the bottom and then curves sharply. Line this crease with the pen.

Step 3: Pull out the magnet and cut it along this new line.

100_1753

Step 4: Peel off the white sheet from the magnet and carefully place the magnet, sticky side down, back into the box so that it’s pressed against one corner. Flatten it with your hand to make sure it’s firmly pressed down and that there aren’t any air bubbles.

100_1748

Step 5: Repeat until the whole bottom is covered.

100_1754

Step 6: Decorate and add your pans of shadows, blushes, bronzers, etc.

As you can see, this is a super easy thing to make, and it’s so useful. Most of the tutorials I found were meant to be dupes specifically for the Z Palette, but it’s pretty obvious that you can make your own out of things you may already have. It’s possible that you could reuse other palettes that you already own, or go for things like pencil tins, etc.

If/when I make the second tier to this palette or other completely-from-scratch palettes, I’ll definitely make an update!

Standard

2 thoughts on “DIY Palette

  1. Pingback: How to Depot Makeup Palettes | EverImpractical

Leave a Reply

