beauty, makeup, reviews, skincare, subscriptions

My July Birchbox

Hey everyone, sorry for not posting anything… I’ve been busy filling in last-minute for my aunt’s secretary, driving my sister to doctors’ appointments because she hurt her knee, and driving everyone around because of my sister’s knee and both my dad and grandmother’s cars being in the shop. It’s been a busy week.

The July Birchbox was a fun and colorful box with a tribal pattern. All Birchboxes this month included a Styla liquid lipstick sample in one of three colors. I received:

100_1626

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso
Marcelle Golden Glow BB Cream
Coola SPF 30 Matte Tint Mineral Sunscreen Natural BB Cream
Amika un.done Texture Spray
Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

Stila liquid lipstick
Sample of 0.05 fl oz at estimated price of $11.00 (full size of 0.1 fl oz at $22.00)

100_1640

The same swatch in different light.

The same swatch in different light.

You probably know that I’ve already reviewed two other liquid lipsticks recently (here and here). The Stila one is closer to the Revlon one I tried in terms of stickiness, pigmentation, application, and finish. This shade, Beso, is a bright, classic red in a matte finish with lots of pigmentation, and was the one I wanted to try most. It can smudge a little bit, and can feel a little sticky even after it’s dried completely, though not as much as the Revlon line. I like the packaging and the effect of the gold lettering on the tube against the red of the liquid lipstick.

100_1636

Left – Marcelle BB Cream Right – Coola Sunscreen/BB Cream

100_1635

Marcelle BB cream
Sample of 0.24 oz at estimated price of $4.05 (full size of 1.6 oz at $27.00)

This is a very nice BB cream. It’s got light coverage compared to foundation, as do most BB creams, and is my favorite of the two that I received in this box. I don’t find that it gives off too much of a “golden glow” but my skin is already pretty warm. It does have a bit of a shimmery finish. I usually still add a little foundation above this, at least in the areas where I need better coverage.

Coola BB cream/sunscreen
Sample of 0.17 fl oz at estimated price of $3.60 (full size of 1.7 oz at $36.00)

This is much more of a sunscreen playing at being a BB cream than an actual BB cream. Or something. I think – it’s kind of hard to tell what its name actually is and therefore what it’s actually supposed to be used for. There is only one word I use to describe this product, and that’s weird. Every aspect about this product could be described in that one word, from its smell (which I can’t begin to really describe) to its color (yellow) to its texture (somehow both greasy and chalky at the same time). I didn’t get any sort of real tint from it, and don’t understand why it’s yellow and why its tint is more or less nonexistent. Matte isn’t a tint, FYI – tint refers to a  Just call it a sunscreen or even maybe a moisturizing sunscreen and call it a day.

The packaging also is overdone. The front uses text in four colors, all of which seems to be in different fonts and sizes and goes from no caps to all caps to some caps. It’s messy and hard to read in places because of font, size, and/or color. And seriously, what is this called? Mineral sunscreen, because that’s the largest font? Natural BB cream, because that’s in caps and in the thick purple bar that draws attention to it? Matte tint, which is the name of it on Birchbox’s website but yellow and tiny and all lowercase letters? Forgive me for ranting, but this packaging seems just as confused as the product. Or I am just confused about this entire thing.

Amika un.done texture spray
Sample of 0.75 oz at estimated price of $3.39 (full size of 5.3 oz at $24.00)

100_1660

As I’ve previously said, I rarely use product in my hair. But I tried it, and was surprised that this created volume on its own that lasted for longer than I expected. It smelled similar to hairspray, and did end up feeling heavy on my hair after several hours, but if you don’t mind that I’d say go for this. I just don’t really have any reason to use something like this all that often.

Vasanti Brighten Up! exfoliating cleanser
Sample of 20 g at estimated price of $5.67 (full size of 120 g at $34.00)

100_1632

This is such a nice exfoliating cleanser! The micro crystals are tiny compared to other exfoliants I’ve tried, and they don’t irritate the skin at all. You only need a little bit, as well. As it says to only use this 3-5 times a week, I switch out my daily cleanser with this every two or three days in the evening. I’m most likely to buy this out of all of theses samples, though this will probably last me a while.

This box, aside from the hair spray, was very decent. The other four products were things that I’ve been learning about and trying recently, even if I’m still confused about the one BB cream/whatever it is.

Standard

Leave a Reply

