beauty, makeup, reviews

Butter London Lippy Liquid Lipstick

Hey everyone! I previously made a post on my first trial with liquid lipstick, but have been meaning to try it for a while. As I think I said somewhere, I first was interested in Revlon Colorstay Moisture Stain, partly because of the packaging. I noticed Butter London’s Lippy Liquid Lipstick at about the same time, as it also is a rectangular tube instead of a circular one and also is a lip product I’d never really heard of before. It’s one of those things that I meant to get forever ago, but luck wasn’t on my side. I went into Ulta at Christmastime and meant to pick one up, but the display was weird so the tubes of lip product (all of which are called Lippy) behind the liquid lipstick samples were the matte lipsticks. So I accidentally bought the matte lipstick (though in the shade that I wanted).

I have actually managed to buy the right product this time. I’m on a nude lip look and wanted to be cautious about the coloring, as liquid lipstick is usually so vibrant that it can look garish, so I bought Tea With the Queen. From the website- “This neutral liquid lipstick is tan in colour, with a little bit of pink mixed in for good measure.” The description does match this, and it is very much a neutral. If applied thinly, it can look more like a lip gloss.

Swatches applied in both a thin and thick layer.

Swatches applied in both a thin and thick layer.

The consistency is a little funny. It’s shinier and doesn’t dry as quickly, reminding me a little of Revlon’s Moisture Stain more than their liquid lipstick. It seems to take a while to fully dry, even if it’s applied thinly, but at that point it started to lose some of its color or shine. I can’t fully tell if it’s just losing some shine or not because the color is so similar to my lips that it blends in a bit. It sticks to the lips well, and can feel a little sticky to the touch. It isn’t drying.

I love the scent. It smells like brown sugar and marshmallows, and I love it. It’s not too strong or cloying, which I was surprised at because usually I can’t stand how lip glosses smell fruity and strong.

I also like the packaging – this was one of the major parts that intrigued me about it several months ago. The square tube stands out compared to most other products like lip glosses. It’s kind of minimalistic but also is meant to mimic glass a little for an understated high-end look.

File Jul 20, 18 31 21

I created a minimal makeup look because it’s so hot out and because I had a doctor’s appointment today. Also, I haven’t posted a picture of me wearing my glasses yet so here you go. They’re probably why I like a more muted lip.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Butter London Lippy Liquid Lipstick

  1. Pingback: My July Birchbox | everimpractical

Leave a Reply

