beauty, looks and tutorials, makeup

Too Faced Cat Eye Look

Hey, everyone! Confession time: When I first started wearing eye shadows and doing more than just an eye liner every day, I was actually inspired by guys in rock bands. Which is weird, I know. I blame being predisposed to bold costume makeup since I was thirteen for me not realizing that this was probably a bad idea. It led to me doing crazy makeup for a year or so, and I would look around the internet for other crazy looks.

I was recently going through all these old eye makeup images on my computer and was inspired by one of them. I’m not going to show you the picture, because I don’t remember where I got it from and there are copyright laws, but it was essentially a zebra print lid, bright green color on the inner bottom rim, and a slight brown smokey look on the crease. I decided to play around with this, and realized that a lot of the colors could be taken from the Too Faced Cat Eye Palette that I mentioned in another post.

So then I decided to try to make it exclusively with the palette. I first tried using the shade Pussy Cat instead of the green, but it wasn’t reading bright enough, so instead I decided to make a blended pink/purple lid and use Kitty Glitter for the green, which is kind of similar to how it’s used in the third starter look.

File Jul 19, 15 20 41

I started with Purr from my crease to my brow, then added Tiger’s Eye in the crease and the outer half of my lower lash line. Then I wet my brush to add Kitten to the lid and inner corner of my eye. I added Pussy Cat on the middle of the lid and Jungle Love on the outer part, blending the two together. Both were applied wet. I then added Kitty Glitter (used wet) on the inner half of my lower lash line, and Leopard in a thinner line in my crease, blending it into Tiger’s Eye. I then used Panther wet for a liner.

File Jul 19, 16 20 42

I used Revlon Colorstay Retractable Pen in my waterlines and Maybelline The Colossal Volum’Express mascara.

As this look used eight of the nine colors and pretty much all of the looks I’d thought to make from this palette (the browns as contours, a pink/purple blend on the lid, and the third starter look), I figured that this is a successful look. Compared to the original, I don’t think it’s quite as nice, because the green was a bright pop of color on all neutrals, and Kitty Glitter is a pale silvery blue trying to compete with pinks and purples. Its sparkly finish is distracting if it’s used on the lid and Pussy Cat is used in its place, as well.

Tip: I read somewhere ages ago that you can use contact lens solution instead of water for a wet shadow, and that it’s often more vibrant and/or longer lasting. It’s usually easier for me to use the contact solution, as I keep both that and my makeup in my room, not the bathroom.

Standard

One thought on “Too Faced Cat Eye Look

Leave a Reply

