Uncategorized

Trouble in Paradise

The last time I went to Ulta, I got a Too Faced Hangover Rejuvenating Primer sample with my purchase, and wanted to try it out. Unfortunately, I had a reaction to… something, and while my beauty routine is a little up in the air today, I think it was the primer (I don’t have any allergies or sensitive skin).

I’ve never used a face primer before. If anything, I thought it would be something like an eye primer. This was a lotion, almost like a moisturizer, and a little goes a long way. I think that if I can use this primer, the sample size could probably last between one and two weeks, maybe more.

I put it on after moisturizing and before any of my other makeup. When I put on yellow concealer for my dark undereye circles, it burned. When I tried putting on foundation, it burned even worse. It burned to remove products, either with a tissue before they set or with real makeup remover, even if I managed to get any other makeup on my face without the pain. Under my eyes puffed up, and still look a little red.

I have noticed that every once in a while I’d get a stinging sensation when I put on my normal concealer after putting on my foundation but before blending it in completely. But this is once every few weeks, AKA I might have gotten this once since I came home for the summer six weeks ago. Even if this a problem with one of my other products, I’ve never had it react to another product before.

Two other possibilites that could have caused this:

I’ve been trying to actually follow a decent skincare regime the past few days, meaning washing my face twice a day and using a cleanser, toner, exfoliating scrub, and moisturizer, whereas before I was only using a cleanser, toner, and moisturizer once a day. It may be that my face isn’t used to so many harsh products? (I’ve used all of these products before, so doubt it was from a reaction to one of these).

I woke up and couldn’t find my glasses this morning, so wore my contacts. I’ve had problems with contacts before, and even my dailies are kind of itchy, uncomfortable, and drying. (As they’re also expensive and as my glasses are amazing and easier to wear, I normally prefer those). I’ve never had problems on the actual skin of or under the eyelid before, where most of the products were used, though.

Yeah. So between the losing-my-glasses (they were hiding between the end of my mattress and the frame, under a blanket) and the reaction/puffy face, as well as my sister being a bathroom hog and a dentist’s appointment, it wasn’t a fun day.

If anyone has any idea as to what may have caused problems with this, I’d be grateful. It seems like it may have been a reaction between products, as I can wear any of these by themselves without any problems, rather than a single ingredient to avoid.

Standard

Leave a Reply

